Eyes of an Eagle: being hunted in Outback Australia: Kinchenga National Park, NSW

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

ad91eca0-4df6-4575-a040-b52805cac8b8.jpeg


So the other day I'm driving along this dirt track in Kinchega National Park real slow right? Two reasons. First there are wattle bushes all along the sides and they're faded like someone pressed mute on the yellow. So I'm wondering whether they come out all bright sunshine and fade from the damn heat out here. Second reason I'm on the go slow is there's plenty of roos and I'm worried one will dart out of those bushes and surprise me with a thud.

So there I am, a bit wary and a bit fascinated, when I sense something move up out of the wattle to my right. I say sense, not see, because it was the presence that I noticed, a shift in the atmosphere. I turn and next to me is a huge wedge tailed eagle.

It doesn't flap about like the crows or cockatoos, this thing moves like it understands its own grandeur. And it takes a good long look at me with those copper flecked eyes. Its feathers made from gold and rich dark chocolate. It glides like that right next to me, and I am captivated by its power. I'm telling you, no word of a lie, the wing span was at least a couple of metres. And sure, that has power just in sheer magnitude but this thing also carried itself with fortitude.

So it can't be longer than five seconds we're like this, eyeballing each other, then it hunches its shoulders twice, slow and controlled. I watch the air move around the force of those lifting and falling wings as it flies away. The thing about it was the silence, how very still everything was in that moment. That five seconds is something I will never forget. To know what it is to be hunted by an eagle.

_____________

This image was taken at Pamamaroo Lake. A free camp in Menindee NSW, Australia.

Kinchega National Park is across the road. They are chalk and cheese. Pamamaroo's sandy lake shores and crystal clear water a stark contrast to the red dirt, roos and arid outback landscape of Kinchenga. Both beauties.

_______

All words and pictures are my own. Some of my content may have been previously published in one of more of the following locations:

Steemit words: @onethousandwords

Instagram | Facebook |EyeEm | Blog

You can also find me on LinkedIn


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play | IOS

Sort:  

You made the eagle encounter poetic. Your description of every moment made me almost in it. And that picture! Mesmerizing. Probably because I am partial to shots like that but I want to play Enya while looking at this photo.

ha ha hey that's true. Enya would have been a fantastic soundtrack for that lake. Thank you for your beautiful words.

It would have been awesome if you were able to take a photo of the eagle but things are meant to be seen by the naked eye.

That is true. I know a photo doesn't do them justice because I have seen photos of them and they just do not capture the size. I thought about grabbing my camera but it felt like such a personal moment.

Great photo! I saw you comment on kieranstone's photos, realizing now that you also take absolutely gorgeous pictures. And I love the beautifully-written texts as well. I hope you don't literally stop after "one thousand pics".

That would be quite a moment. Alright then, that's 1000, my work here is done! Not a chance. I like taking photos too much. Thanks so much for your lovely comment. How good is @kieranstone ? I love his work. A fellow Aussie.

It's no wonder Australia brings forth such amazing photographers. I think there must be a constant urge to snap its gorgeous landscape. Then of course it needs a talent like the two of you have it to really capture it ;-)

That is such a lovely thing to say. Thank you. It os a remarkable country. Such varied and unique landscapes.

Awww you guys :D

Nice photo too ;)

I don’t know what I liked the most, photo or the story...beautiful dear!

Thank you. That is a so kind.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=onethousandpics
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=eyes-of-an-eagle-being-hunted-in-outback-2018-04-17-07-53-07


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Stunning picture, love, love, love!!!

I love your story... we had an encounter with an eagle a couple of weeks ago... we were on a rural highway in NSW, we were going one way, the eagle was going the other, like we were about to cross paths... My husband braked and started to swerve thinking he was going to hit it... and as you know they don't just fly, they soar...

Next thing you know it hits it's brakes. The legs came down and it almost stopped instantly. If we could have captured it, it would have been the perfect landing in slow motion. It landed on the concrete side curb of the road, so it was close...

Magnificent bird... I could just sit and watch them fly around for hours!
Thanks for sharing your story... love it! : )

That sounds like a fantastic experience. I didn't realise how huge they were until I saw one up close. They are magnificent things.

It was a little scary actually, yeah they are BIG... not something you'd want to hit. A bit like the kangaroos... I think they're do a fair bit of damage!! I've noticed a lot down in NSW, I don't see them much up here in QLD, not like I do down south.

They are scary. They have a real danger about them up close.

Oh yeah, for sure!! Hopefully we don't have too many more encounters with them ; )

I actually loved my moment. It was awe inspiring in the most literal sense.

We'll go with good encounters then, not the bad! : )

What an encounter!
Truly unforgettable experience! I have been approached by an eagle (not that close) and it gave me the chills. :)
And an excellent picture to come with!
Thank you for sharing.

Chills is such a perfect word for it. There is something about them that makes you feel very small and very vulnerable.

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

This is super beautiful!

Thanks Cam. That lake is very photogenic. One of my favourite places in the Outback.

Beautiful picture :) >>> "Resteem of the day"

Thanks so much for the support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62725.26
ETH 3221.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85