You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cost of living in the country you live in?

in #travel5 years ago

I moved to northern Peru, because like yourself I was working like a dog to just survive. I love Florida and The United States but I don't like living there full time anymore. I will never give up my citizenship but I am working on having dual citizenship at the moment.
My monthly rent in Lobitos, Peru is $100 per month. Food is really inexpensive and fresh. The nearest fast food place is three hours away....so as I said the food here is fresh, healthy, and inexpensive. For my weeks worth of food at the grocery store my cost is about $50. That cost includes three meals a day. You can head out to a restaurant and have dinner, a couple of beers, and desert for about $8. I have two roommates and we use a lot of electricity per month which averages $25, which is the whole bill.
The cost of living is very cheap but you need to have a niche in order to make some money to survive. This is why I built a hotel from the ground up. My first floor is now done and I have renters in there right now...so I am making a little cash even while I am here in Florida. I am now also bringing back some fishing kayaks to start a boating tour of the area I live in Peru.
This year I am also starting construction on the second floor of my hotel. This is going to be my restaurant and bar.
It has not been easy transitioning my life from The United States to South America, but I am now starting to reap the rewards. My stress level has gone way down, I have lost 50 pounds of fat off of my body just from my new lifestyle and the food I eat, and I actually have time to go out and enjoy some life instead of working all day and heading home to go to sleep and repeat.
Just remember that achieving your dreams is not an easy task, but in the long run you will be happy to have chased it. Good luck my friend and I hope you find your happy place.
By the way they even have skate parks here in Peru and you can street skate wherever you like. Have a great day my friend and enjoy.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for the information bro,that's a comment I want to ready in this post.
I was thinking about North American countries like Peru,Mexico etc.
How is the ciminalit and the people there?Racism?
Cause I am a white redhead bro.
So the rent for a cozy house for 3 is 300.That's not bad at all.
I mean if I come to Peru with 3000 euros in my pocket I am gonna be fine for some months.
Are you working at the moment?Are there any jobs for foreigners like me?How about the laguage?Is there a problem if I dont' know how to speak Spanish?(I think people in Peru speaks Spanish right?)
Thank you in regards bro.Such an awesome and motivating comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69