Bridgwater Carnival 2018

in #travel5 years ago

I attended the Bridgwater Carnival on Saturday 3rd November and what a spectacular night. I filmed most of the entry’s and here is a video I have put together of the Carnival.

Sort:  

Thank you for bringing us into this carnival. I enjoy it very much although by watching Video only. They have each theme with their costume and song. and they enjoy it very much. You have any idea they took how long to prepare such parade?
I could imagine the atmosphere for all the audience. Cheers with laughter and dance together.

It is a wonderful display of colours, light, costumes, dance, decorations and songs and singing! I like how everyone is so involved in their costumes and the roles that they each play and every car is beautifully decorated and transformed. What does this carnival celebrate?

There is 8 carnivals in the Somerset circuits which have been running for hundreds of years. Bridgwater being 1 of the biggest illuminated carnivals in the world.

Amazing! And these 8 carnivals run throughout the year? Bridgewater definitely is a very illuminated carnival from the video you shot. Love the light displays on each car. Happy weekend to you @selfbuiltcamper!

Hah man 40 minutes?? You crazy :D Why didn't you use DTube btw?

And what's the history of this festival? WTF those vehicles are craaazyy haha :D The loong train at 1:00 totally got me speechless :D Do you have maybe some highlights timestamps from the video to check no matter what?

Hi selfbuiltcamper,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

howdy from Texas selfbuiltcamper! wow that was wild! Such a great variety of music, floats and costumes, how long did that go on anyway or did you get most of it on the video?
I have never seen such huge floats in my life, they were amazing. Where was this at, I mean I know Bridgewater but what country?

Hi @janton Bridgwater is in the county of Somerset which is in the south west of the UK. The carnival floats consists of a fully dressed tractor which pulls the main float which could be an old 45ft trailer and then connected to that is the generator trailer which is fully dressed. Some floats have as many as 30 plus people dancing or in tableau. Total length of some of the big floats can be up to 100ft long. It take all year to raise the money and to build the floats. My video has covered all of the floats and most of the walkers. After the carnival all of the clubs get together and then we have the Squibbing where many members each hold a squib attached to a pole raised up in the air lining up the high street on both sides of the road. I’ll find a good video for you of the squibbing and I’ll post on my blog. Possession starts at 19:00 and lasts for about 3hrs but this year there were a few brake downs at the start.

howdy today selfbuiltcamper! wow, that is truly an amazing process and constructiona and everything else, never seen anything close to it! Leave it to the Brits! lol. thanks for all the information!

A nocturnal carnival full of lights, how great is that! In my country carnivals are usually daytime, so watching your video allowed me to get to know the carnival from another perspective. The dances and the floats that you showed are spectacular, it shows that they took a long time of elaboration, and that I can tell you about the costumes, original and fun. Thanks for recording the video and showing it to everyone.

So much work must have gone into this parade! It's kind of boggling. All the costumes and float and dance moves to go along with the music. I love the Batman themed one with all the Jokers and Harley Quinns. Pretty cool.

I've never heard of this before! Skipped around the video a bit but damn, this is on par with Mardi Gras in terms of scale and effort put into it. It must have been a lot of fun.

Thanks for sharing!

The clubs spend most of the year building the floats and then they enter 8 carnivals in the Somerset circuits. It’s 1 of the biggest illuminated carnivals in the world.

That's so awesome. Looks like a year long planning project. Pretty cool! Thanks again for sharing.

Looks absolutely amazing, a lot of colors, lights and the trucks are so beautifully decorated. It must have taken really good amount of time to prepare all the costumes and make up, that must be really exiting to experience it live. The dancers in their costumes reminded me Brazilian carnival, only the difference is the weather temperature. I hope you got not cold while filming the event. Really enjoyed it :)

hello @selfbuiltcamper, I really have captured your publication, just for the fact of celebrating some carnivals on a date that is unusual for Latin Americans and well I think worldwide.

in any case I think it's great to celebrate 2 carnivals on two dates, it's more party :D ... All the carriages are great. I really like the parts of the golden costumes looks like what they celebrate in Brazil.

thank you for showing part of the culture of other latitudes.

greetings and thank you for sharing

I will be honest and say that I didn't watch the whole video as I don't have that much time today but I clicked through it..

Wow! What a great happening! I love that it's done during the night as then all the colors and lights are beautifully visible. I like that each 'truck' has different music and what I really like is that people practiced their roles and perform like pros :)

The carnival that we have in Switzerland is during the day and it is a little but boring but the one that you attended is awesome!

Thank you for sharing!

Hi @delishtreats the Bridgwater Carnival is 1 of the largest illuminated carnivals in the world and the first carnival in the Somerset circuits. It takes most of the year fundraising and building the floats ready for each year’s carnivals.

You're very lucky that you've been able to attend such a huge happening :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63