UPDATE/Travel Post. Visiting Family in Westerland (Sylt island)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Some of you may know i have been away on a trip this week, visiting family in Germany and that the trip really didnt go as well as i planned at first. :(

Soooo.. Lets get into it.



I had a flight on 3.6, in 8:45 from Split, Croatia-Hamburg, Germany.
The flight went smoothly until i arrived to German air space. They let us know that the Hamburg airport was experiencing a power failure and the flight would have to be redirected to the Hanover airport that is 150 km away..
So basically i was stuck in Hanover until further notice. No notice came and it seemed they had a lot more problems in Hamburg then they previously let us know.
The luggage, they wouldnt let us have since it apparently had to reach its destination in Hamburg. They suspended all the flights that day stranding who knows how many thousands of people for the day.


Screenshot (27).png


So i took what i had with me and sat on a train from Hanover to Hamburg, thinking maybe by the time i get there everything will be fixed. I was wrong, ofc, (getting super frustrated at that moment) and it was starting to get late, now spending a whole day in transit, so my only option was to either sleep at the airport or book a motel room. (added cost, yeey :D )
I booked a room, slept the night, picked up what i had with me and i was on my way to Westerland (another 300 km by train).
It was quite an ugly experience being in a foreign country, in the wrong city, not knowing what in the world is going on, what to do next, but i got through it and finally arrived where i was supposed to.
My luggage of course didnt arrive and it will be returned to Split rather then me receiving it in Westerland.

7 days in Germany without anything i brought with me. Just my phone (without the charger that was in one of the bags)
and an increasingly thin wallet. haha. (I got to borrow my mothers clothes, and buy some more so i was ok in the end.)
looks like i payed a round trip for my bags from Croatia to Germany and back. haha


Screenshot (29).png


It went quite smoothly after that. Did the regular family stuff i dont want to bother you guys with.

Westerland isnt really a place where you can see some amazing historic or landmark sites. Its basically a seaside resort on the island of Sylt. You can see a few standard German pretty houses around the resort with the country feel but its mostly hotels on the beach front that interests people most.


IMG-20180608-WA0007.jpg


Its really hard to make this travel post more interesting, haha, since i was relaxing most of my time there, went to the beach a few times (its pretty cold for my taste), went out with brother... etc.
The town is a vacation destination, a place to relax and dine well. They apparently have a large aquarium that i didnt visit this time around.
Regardless of the first day, in the end it turned out quite an enjoyable experience.


IMG-20180608-WA0010.jpg


Wanted to show you guys what i was up to this week before i jump into my regular video uploading schedule.
My return trip is tomorrow so i expect to have something up in a couple days.
It will be a song i wanted to do for quite some time now, which i consider super special and it will include a collaboration, with @pechichemena and an amazing steemit artist (not to spoil who it is yet :P) that will do cover art for the song.

A teaser for my next video upload. hehe




Hope my short update didnt bore you too much and ill see you guys soon.

Some of my music videos:

Steem Original: TO THE MOON
https://steemit.com/openmic/@silentscreamer/5pcpxakt
James Arthur: Impossible
https://steemit.com/openmic/@silentscreamer/7pw7ncob
Moving on (Original Song)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@silentscreamer/a2nc4631
Frank Sinatra: My Way
https://steemit.com/music/@silentscreamer/4x49rtoa
Elton John: Can you feel the love tonight (Lion King soundtrack)
https://steemit.com/music/@silentscreamer/g1m7orxk
Enya: May it be (LOTR soundtrack)
https://steemit.com/openmic/@silentscreamer/962n3z6d
Pirates of the Caribbean soundtrack (Hoist the colors and Main theme)
https://steemit.com/music/@silentscreamer/231nc0ms
I dreamed a dream from Les Miserables
https://steemit.com/openmic/@silentscreamer/ggk5xq72
The Minnowsupport Lullaby
https://steemit.com/minnowsupportproject/@silentscreamer/yi7zsm7r
Schindlers List Theme
https://steemit.com/openmic/@silentscreamer/steemit-openmic-week-75-or-theme-from-schindler-s-list-or
Sam Smith: "Im not the only one"
https://steemit.com/blockmountain/@silentscreamer/block-mountain-submission-or-sma-smith-i-m-not-the-only-one-or
Meno/Pechichemena: "Wait" cover
https://steemit.com/openmic/@silentscreamer/3ht644ns
Whitney Houston: "I have nothing"
https://steemit.com/openmic/@silentscreamer/w7vcd5wc
Beyonce: "Listen"
https://steemit.com/openmic/@silentscreamer/znifwtme
Cee Lo Green: "Forget you"
https://steemit.com/onelovedtube/@silentscreamer/rdb4mn6h


Openmic needs our help! The witness that financially supports the #openmic competition with 200 Steem every week is currently outside the TOP 20 witnesses. The @openmic competition is the lifeblood of many musicians here, one of the things that paints the Steem ecosystem in a positive light, with regularly around 300 entries every week!
Now it needs our help, so if you are a large stake holder, a witness, or even a minnow please consider voting @pfunk for witness or follow the link below to see how exactly you can help. Thank you!
Vote here!
More information on this link

download.png

Sort:  

There's an old saying: if you have lots of time, travel by plane :)

yeah... if you want to sit in a corner angry at the world travel by plane. :D
And its Germany of all places, one of the advanced countries in the world, there should be some kind of fail safe. A backup generator.
But nope.. haha

forgive me .. i sent this proof to you ... please visit some of my blog .. thanks for your cooperation ...

please visit my blog ,, i have sent sdb to your wallet and thanks for your kindness and cooperation good luck always

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Excelent post my friends.... I love the tips of travel ... My account same your account... You must do this post in other language how spanish because help more peolple

No help from airline companies? Did they compensate in any way? When I read this post quickly the first time I thought you were stranded for 7 days too, but good thing I reread hahaha.....

Sounds like an enjoyable stay. The house in the picture is pretty cute too, and it's got a bit of green in the roof. And the roof is fluffy.

I think that was grass growing on the roof. Thats a thing in Germany and they are quite expensive from what ive heard.

Well they did give me money for the train ticket from Hanover to Hamburg. The rest ill need to see (if there will be anything at all) when i get back home.
Ill sue for emotional stress. :D

on the way back you can come to Zagreb instead of Split :) Just to say Hi:)

Who knows where i might end up if the trip back goes the same way as my trip to Germany. haha

I'm sorry to see that you encountered some problems during your trip.
Unfortunately, (or luckily) I've never traveled by the plane so I don't really know how hard is to be in such a situation but only imagining this and it's awful..
You probably don't realise how strong you are to get through this and don't lose your minds, I would probably have a crisis and become hysterical lol.

Haha. Well i did get super angry at one point but misery loves company and because hundreds of others were in the same predicament as me, it was easier. haha. Its silly it works that way but theres human nature for you. :)

Yeah, I think so :)

Hey, I also had a disaster air travel to Germany! Although, I still had my bags and everything with me, so it looks like you got it worse...

Seems like we are both in the same country at the moment!The place that you are staying in looks pretty cute!

Haha. Yeah it felt pretty bad. You seem to travel a lot. I dont have that luxury yet, but once i buy my crypto Tesla ill be roaming around Europe for free every chance i get. hahaha. :D

I travel a bit, but that is the freelance life... I would trade it in for a steady orchestra job any day of the week (although that doesn't really exist in Early Music...)... Want to swap? I could brush off my vibrato!!!!

Congratulations @silentscreamer! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Well thank you. at first the awards do seem as spam, once you pass the few milestones, but now im glad to see my progress since i dont get this on every post. Thank you bot :D

each trip will certainly be the best teacher because many wisdom that can be picked to take the heart more wisely

I hate airports with passion. Glad rest of the trip went fine. Borrowing your mum clothes sounds sweet and bonding.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94