You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Authentic Beijing duck (photo from Beijing)

in #travel6 years ago

These pictures take me back to the 5 happy years I spent living in China! I love the sweet potato majiang - i've never seen that in a Chinese restaurant before.
I remember that in the little shop I would go to to buy roast duck they would give you absolutely every last bit of the animal, bones and all should you wish to use it for stock. Something that we could learn from the Chinese over here in the West is to be more adverse to wasting food as it is a big problem in the UK.
This looks like quite an upmarket restaurant. If you haven't already, I'd highly recommend finding some of street restaurants in the hutongs. Meals of 烤羊肉 - the whole leg of lamb roasted over a bed of coals at the same table you sit at and 烤鱼 - the whole roast fish served in a single dish piled high with vegetables are probably some of the most memorable in my whole time in China. Those kind of restaurants are especially nice in the evening once the weather gets a bit warmer as you can enjoy your food outside while watching the world go by.
I'm going to have to get some food as looking and your pictures and reminiscing has made me very hungry!

Sort:  

haha thanks for your comment! yeah 烤羊肉 and 烤鱼 are both awesome!!

your chinglish is very diao!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59281.33
ETH 2982.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74