You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lanzarote (part 2) - Volcanoes and the Liquid Landscape

in #travel6 years ago

I would love to visit volcanoes, it's cool to think about when they were all more active a long time ago, when there was nothing or little and the earth was still growing older with time.

Sort:  

Yes, I get where you're coming from @thegoliath. Although I talk about thinking that area was active in the article, it was deep beneath the earth if there was any activity as the ground was only really warm. The main fascination and wonderment in the hike and the landscape was in imagining it all as eruptions were happening long ago. The solidified lava flow in the 7th pic, for example, really shows how the landscape would have been liquid when the eruptions were happening. Even now, as I look at it, I can imagine the red glowing rock flowing and the acrid smoke.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62449.43
ETH 3190.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81