Shipwrecks on the Isle of Wight. DJI drone (video)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

On the southern coast of the UK lies the Isle of Wight. As a child, all I can remember was a huge 'giant' statue outside a local amusement park and an exciting ferry crossing- this time I left with new memories and some great drone footage of some old shipwrecks.

I had no prior knowledge of the beached ships until I flew over them. Of course I wasn't the first to discover them, but finding a shipwreck anywhere is always pretty cool- perhaps movies like the Goonies influence this!

I have no idea how the ships came to rest where they were, I assume an error in navigation or irregular tides grounded the vessels on the mudflats.

There were 2 shipwrecks that I could see. Both had metal hulls that had rusted heavily over the years but looked like they would have been great to explore inside. Anyone who has walked alongside mudflats will know you don't want to do it. You just sink! I couldn't climb aboard so I have no idea what treasures might have been abandoned below deck.

Screenshot (414)-1.jpg

Screenshot (412)-3.jpg

The river filmed in the video was the River Yar, that led out to Yarmouth harbour on the NW corner of the island. This harbour also offered the shortest crossing back over to the mainland to Lymington- a very pleasant day trip.

Screenshot (413)-2.jpg

If you liked my post and video, please don't forget to follow and upvote for more :)

Sort:  

Appreciated your various pictures... it's too bad you weren't able to PEEK INSIDE, but with yr Imagination you can envision what treasures may lie inside [think of the Titanic, for instance ].

It had fancy silver, inlaid mosaics (I loved those, when i saw them).

Whatdya think of.. SWORDS perhaps?

Let me know !

P.S. I have been a Teacher and am an #ANIMAL Lover; also like #travel, so I've things in common w/ You.

Therefore, I shall 'follow' ye

Haha swords would be great or a few gold coins! What subject/age group do you each? great to hear from you- following you too.

It was Drivers Education and #English .

My highest scores were always in English

Hmmm.... Nice aerial view.
The area where those ships are must have been water logged before, and now seeing them on dryland, you would think the ships were actually pushed on to the drylands.
"Isle of white" what a name indeed.


Your post has been resteemed to my 2162 followers

Upvote this comment if you like this service

Excellent, thank you. have followed you.

I just love it. Such a great spot to drone!

And perfect weather too- my fingers were crossed lol

Well done :D

Reminds me of Titanic, hehe

Wow looks realy neat.

Thanks for watching, glad you liked it.

great photo and video good

Glad you liked it, Thanks

your welcome dear friend

Wow, it really looks very nice. I just got a Spark and testing it right now, these drones are amazing!

Cool, hope u get some good footage- where r u? Bristol? Western-S-M might be cool to fly.

I am in Bristol, yes, I tried it at Portished, not yet in Weston, I was thinking around Chepstow Castle, maybe in secret...

Yes- Chepstow is really near to my hometown, when I was back in the summer I really wanted to fly up and over the castle, but missed my chance- have to wait till next time.

I might do it next week. Hopefully it is not restricted, I have to check.

Im not sure how strict they are- probably better if u take off from a quiet location and fly in!

#life
W. Clement Stone : Definiteness of purpose is the starting point of all achievement.

As a photographer, I can say, that this is amazing work! This place is something mystical!

Thank you :) will check out your posts.

These drone shots and video footage are awe inspiring @thinkit, I wish I could muster the funds to buy a mavic. Also I would love to take my family over to the Isle of White!

A drone is a good investment- so many great photos and videos. Gotta make sure your computer is fast enough- takes ages for me to edit lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01