Steemfest hitchhiking recap!

in #traveldigest6 years ago (edited)

IMG-20171105-WA0001[1].jpg

People on the road

I've decided to make a quick video recap from the footage I had on my GoPro from my hitchhiking adventure to and from Steemfest.

I had an incredible blast, and am still amazed by all the beautiful people I met. Not only Steemians themselves, but incredible people giving me a ride.

One of the rides that still remains vivid in memory is a German truckdriver. I was stuck a little bit before Paris on my way back to Belgium. Now if you have any experience hitchhiking, you'd know, Paris is hell. Everyone goes to it, but nobody goes past it (well not a lot of people at least).

I asked him if he was going past Paris, and he quite immediately said "Yes, jump in". Usually it takes a bit of talking back and forth, but he just felt that because he was going that way anyways, it was common sense to take me with. The whole fearmongering we're so used to from society, didn't seem to have an effect on him.

When we got to talking he told me about his big dream: once he'd retire, he was going to buy a camper (how German I know) and take that camper to all the beautiful sites he had passed with his truck, but never could actually visit.

I love how, when hitchhiking, people seem to open up very easily. It also made me realize how beautiful most people are. Every single person has a story, a dream, hopes, ideas for the future.

The current problem with our world, in my opinion, is that we don't really have dialogue anymore. Everyone is spewing their opinions left and right, without listening, to often valid, points of the other side.

I have a very strong vision on the world myself, but I do try to understand where people who disagree with me are coming from. And lo and behold, at times after having a good dialogue I could change my vision and people I talked with might have changed theirs.

It seems this post became a slight bit of a rant. So without further ado; here is the video recap!

Sort:  

I love taking hitch-hikers, I've met some really interesting people and made some great friends that way!

I can imagine so! There is something about that connection between driver and hitchhiker! I've noticed it often and I love it!

I think a large part of it as well is that hitch-hikers tend to be people who are bravely putting themselves out in the world and aren't living in fear, which is my kinda people! I recently came back from two years in Brazil and when I was there it was often foreigners who were hitch-hikers... it seemed most Brazilians were convinced that it was too dangerous. But the hitch-hikers I took were only full of good storied from their adventures. I noticed that Brazilians would hitch-hike locally but they wouldn't put their thumbs out! They would just hope that a passing friend would notice and offer them a lift. By the way I was in quite a rural town, it wasn't in any of the big megalopolises!

Likewise, the people who pick up hitchhikers I'd say!
I've done a bunch of hitchhiking in Costa Rica, and haven't had one bad experience there! But locals would definitely advise against it most of the time, haha!
I can't wait to cross the Atlantic once more and explore some more over there!

Ha ha - maybe so! So must be back in Europe now then?

Yeah, I live in cold rainy Belgium unfortunately! Well, at least the beer is good, right, haha?

I hear there's nice chocolate too!

Love to look at the video...
Mis you both @martibis and @anomadsoul !!!
Happy that you are safe home <3

We should meet again sooooon!
I mean it's not like we're living far from each other, haha!

And who's fault was it that you guys were stuck in the middle of nowhere? !!

Well, mostly our own really, we didn't want to get off the highway, and thought the entrance to the highway might be best! But there was pretty much noone driving there, haha!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=martibis
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=steemfest-hitchhiking-recap


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

For the people here, who are paying attention, look at how there is no "ugly" steemitworldmap tag in my post... hint hint... update coming, haha!

[hint successfully noticed]

Cool video recap @martibis!

Thank you!!! Your support really made it a lot easier for me to go!!!

Ah yes, Germans are really nice people!!😉

Great recap! It was great meeting you and hearing your story. I checked your blog after I met you to and learned how this hitchhiking trip came about - very inspiring!!!

I agree, I always get along with Germans on my travels, haha!

Ooh, I really appreciate that! I've been trying to get through the blogs of all the amazing Steemians I've met too! But there is too many of them, haha!

True! I just made sure I followed everyone, though, to at least see their new posts coming out and keep in touch with everyone a bit.

I tried to, but I couldn't recall all the names, got quite a bunch of them down luckily, haha!

Awesome video recap! Great to meet you both.

I'm glad you enjoyed it! And the pleasure was entirely mine!!!
I hope you find more opportunities to travel around as I have a feeling it did you much good!

Indeed it did. I definitely got the taste for travel and adventure.

2018: Muxxiebot around the world, haha!

Lol, I would love that.

Such a great adventure! I really enjoyed the recap video. I've only hitchhiked a few times, but I've always found it exciting. Not knowing what the people you ride with are going to be like. I've never had any problems with anyone. Camping in some trees or bushes off the side of the road is no big deal, I like that kinda stuff. And I really enjoy getting to talk with random strangers. It's almost always enlightening.

Thank you! Camping isn't a biggie but it can get cold at times though, with winter coming to Europe! I 100% agree with you there, the stories you can get on the road are seriously amazing!

Congratulations @martibis, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 2177 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $703.51. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61926.98
ETH 3060.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79