You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Naschmarkt - Vienna - Austria

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Yep! And money is tight after all the root canals -3 in all and now crowns to come. I used to have separate business and personal accounts back when stock was a viable business model, but now it all comes out of the same kitty! I’ll probably get a refurbished one, as I really need it for studio shots, unless I decide to retire from that side. Most of my sales come from that though, as too many people shoot travel. Studio work is a bit more specialized.

Sort:  

Yes Luckily I have medical and dental coverage with all the things I have had over the last few years
I haven't focused at all on the business side of photography for me its been a hobby and my way of relaxing, I am lucky to get a few sales from my website each year which helps me to put aside a little for new gear or upgrades, but not that much really.
I have considered looking into stock or putting more effort in trying to sell prints, but with work I just haven't had the time or motivation, but maybe when I retire I should consider looking into taking it a little more seriously

Unfortunately, Medicare doesn't cover dental unless you get one of the Advantage plans, but my friend has one of those and she has a hard time finding doctors and dentists who will see her, and so little is covered anyway! Make the most of good dental care while you have it. Get all your dental work done before you retire!

You could sell prints on Fineartamerica easily. I can see you doing that full time! Stock needs a huge volume of images these days and it's a lot of work, as you have to do your own keywords and research on the subject matter. Each agency has a different way of using keywords, so you can't just copy and paste from one agency to the next. That's why I come and go from here in spurts, and why I took such a long break! I had not been uploading images, and when you don't have fresh images, you don't come up high in the search algorithms!

I am fortunate, I will be able to stay with the coverage I currently have at a reduced rate when I retire thats a huge benefit for which I am truly thankful
I do have a fine art America account but haven't done anything with it, I must do something with it when I retire or if things quite down for me like they should in the next few weeks, starting to try and wind down at work and start my transition from working to retirement lOL

I just checked out your website! You have some incredible work there! I love all your flowers. I will take the time to really look at it later. I canceled my 2 websites, as they pretty much just pointed to my stock sites anyway. I'm just using Adobe portfolio, as adobe Stock makes it easy to send your images from there to the portfolio. They are all clickable from there too. I've also added all my agencies and art sites as tabs, so everything is in one place. Actually, I just remembered that I'm missing one place where I have some fabric design. I've tried a little repeating pattern work that can be tiled for products, but haven't added much lately, as It's quite time consuming to create. They sell sometimes on microstock, so nothing big. The problem now is that on all of the art sites you have a better chance of selling more if you are active in the groups, but I can't be active in 4 groups, and on here, and be submitting to my agencies!

MY website is on Smugmug and one think I like about it is I can upload to it directly from Lightroom which makes it easy to do, its not cheap but I am making enough sales at the moment that covers the cost of it plus some extra,

I havent looked at adobe portfolio and clearly, I should

Findignthe time to do all that sure sounds like a challenge to me

For all the years I have used Lightroom , I have never used it for anything other than importing my photos in a certain way. I tried a few times to use it, but Photoshop has always been my favorite way of editing. I can’t see me changing my workflow at this late date. I’ve used Photoshop since it first came out, so it would be hard for me to make a change now. I have never been able to properly edit photos in Lightroom for some reason. I always have to import them, and then weed them out in Adobe Raw at 100%. Perhaps you can do that in Lightroom now, but I have never tried. I’m a creature of habit. Lol!

I to am a creature of habit I think we all are we get used to the way we are doing things, if I shoot one of the local events I do a lot of quick edits in lightroom as I don't find myself being so picky for those especially when its free work for them and they want them in a hurry LOL

but for most of the photos I edit other than that I do most of the editing in Photoshop

It’s probably because the stock agencies are very picky about dust spots and cigarette butts spoiling a shot! I’ve always had to edit every image painstakingly. I even do it for Steemit, but not because it’s for Steemit. My workflow includes actions that save the edited photo for stock. I just then add the copyright symbol and have an action that downsizes it and saves it in a different folder for Steemit. So anything that is not already submitted to stock is edited and ready to go - whether as editorial shots or creative.

I think we all have our favorite workflows for whatever works for us.

Yes I think everyone has their own way of doing things with editing and unlike many I dont think there is a right way or a wrong way there is the way that works best for the individual,
Yes for photos I edit if there are dust spots or unwanted things like cigarette butts then I always edit them in Photoshop, Lightroom does have a spot removal tool now, but its habit again I have always used Photoshop for that

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61852.61
ETH 3084.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83