Enjoying and chilling down the Strawberry Lane

in #travelfeed5 years ago (edited)

I was in transit bound to home in the province when I spotted this tarpaulin on the overpass in front of La Trinidad municipal grounds. I called out to the jeepney driver to stop and I dropped off. Oh yes! Like Baguio City with its Panagbenga Festival in February, La Trinidad is celebrating a month-long Strawberry Festival in March. And I am blessed in disguise to be going home in the last week of March that I can still have a glimpse of what's left with the festival. 😊
Foot bridge.jpg

La Trinidad is a valley and a municipality in the province of Benguet, somewhere north of the country. To get to La Trinidad from Manila, take a bus bound for Baguio City through Victory Liner, Dagupan Bus, Philippine Rabbit, Saulog Trans or Solid North Transit. When you reach Baguio City, take a cab and ask the driver to take you to the jeepney terminal bound for La Trinidad. Or, you can ask the driver to take you directly to La Trinidad because it is right next to Baguio City when you go farther north in the region. The famous strawberry farm is just six kilometers away from the city proper.
vertical.jpg

La Trinidad is known for its strawberry produce from the famous strawberry farm which is mostly owned by Benguet State University. The municipality is also dubbed as "Salad Bowl of the Philippines" because of its also popular Trading Post behind the municipal hall. It is where different vegetables produces are being delivered from different places in the Cordillera region. Okay, maybe I will tell you more about the place on a separate post. For now, let's take a walk in front of the municipal grounds.

Right in front of the municipal hall to the highway is this Strawberry Lane. I was not able to get a good shot of the hall because of these banderitas so I'll try again next time.
Strawberry lane.jpg

On both sides of the lane are mini-parks. To the right is where I spotted this tent carinderia which they temporarily put up for the festival.
Tent.jpg

There is also this mini-playground where the young and young at heart alike enjoy their time.
playground.jpg

To the left of the lane are food stalls where I found this huge circular basket full of strawberries that made me droll and thirsty. 😃 I looked around and searched for halo-halo. For those who do not know what halo-halo is, Oxford dictionary described it very well:

A Filipino dessert made with mixed fruits, boiled sweetened white beans, milk, and flavoured crushed ice, typically topped with purple yam, crème caramel, and ice cream. 'a tall glass of halo-halo'

I can not find a stall selling halo-halo and I wondered why so I asked. I found out that the municipality prohibited it from being traded along the Strawberry Lane to focus on strawberry products alone. Okay, let's have cool and refreshing strawberry shake then! 😊
Shake.jpg

Going forward towards the municipal hall, I almost jumped when I saw this in the parking lot! It is one of the floats that they used during the float parade six days ago. I was not expecting to see any of the floats here. I thought those have already been disposed but apparently no. And this one has natural flowers already withering. After six days, it is lovely to see this float with the flowers still intact though they started to wither. Notice the AMBIONG lettering on the float. Ambiong is the name of the village which created this float entry.
Ambiong float.jpg

I thought that if this float is here, then others should also be here. I looked around the parking lot. Indeed, there is one to the right side and in front of the municipal gynmasium. It is the one from Balili village. This one is made of recycled materials. The one from Ambiong is made of natural flowers while this one is artificial. It looks like they had different categories of float materials for the contest. By the way, yes, each float is an entry to a contest.

Balili float.jpg

I went around the Balili float and noticed that the sides have very good view. I tried soooo hard to take a good shot of this side but to no avail. I even requested for a chair from a municipal officer who was looking by. I stood on the chair and tried to take a shot from above just to get rid of the car from the view but I still got that dashboard and the side mirror. Aahhh... People were looking at me with my effort to take photo. I did not care. 😃

Balili float 2.jpg

Since I can not take a good landscape shot of the float, I just took photos of some of its decorations.

This one is a portray of the colorful houses in sites Stonehill, Botiwtiw and Sadjap (STOBOSA) site which are all part of Balili village. The colorful houses were inspired by the Favela art in Brazil. Now we have it in La Trinidad.

Balili float 3.jpg

This one? Elf or Santa? Either way, he is carrying yummy strawberries.
Balili float 4.jpg

Now let's take a closer look at their artificial flowers. Figure what was used with these?

Balili float 5.jpg

I tried a few more times to take shots of the float but still failed. Okay, that is enough. Let's move on... I found this on the other side of the parking lot. This is the best shot I got somehow. All other angles have more distractions from cars that are parked right beside the float. This float is also made of recycled materials.

Parrot float.jpg

Let's have a closer look at the colorful and lovely bird and insect. The parrot looks majestic with its striking red color.
Parrot and butterfly.jpg

I looked around further and there is no more float in sight. I thought these three may be the top three winners thus displayed here for some time before finally being disposed.

It was just passed noon time. Now I am missing another cup of strawberry shake but it is getting late to be home so I gotta go for now. But before that, for those who may not know how strawberry "tree" looks like, here it is. This was hanging by a garden screen near the flag pole.

Strawberry.jpg

Years ago during one casual conversation with my former colleagues, our topic went to strawberries and they thought it is a tree. I thought I would laugh but can not blame them if they haven't seen one yet. Strawberry is not a tree, not like the mulberry tree. It is like a grass! 😃 (herbaceous, actually). It is just about six to eight inches high from the roots. 😊

That's it, friends. I hope you enjoyed the walk with me down the Strawberry Lane in La Trinidad, Benguet. Until next time... 😊

Steem divider 700.jpg

Join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside) AND the latest update <<< please click to read.

Steem divider 700.jpg

Upvote Follow Resteem @macoolette

Steem divider 700.jpg

Sort:  

I LOVE strawberries and so this was a must-read -- the colorful photographs were a real treat and made me feel like I was ALMOST there... now I am hungry (and I would like to try some halo-halo too)!

Ah, that's cool. I am glad that I was able to walk you through what we got. 😊 Halo-halo is very easy to prepare. Just get the ingredients, mix them all, chill and enjoy! 😊

Hola apreciada @macoolette! Que publicación tan linda, me encanta la forma que tienes de hacer tus publicaciones, nos llevas contigo en todo el paseo, gracias por compartir este lindo paseo.

Yes, I am learning how to write better. And one thing I learned is to make my readers "feel and see" what I wrote. 😊

Thank you very much for dropping by!

No strawberry cake or strawberry jam @macoolette 😉 I like the Bailili float the most.. it's just amazing to see it. The flowers made from bottom part of sprite bottle😂

There was a giant strawberry cake that the municipality displays during the float parade. They then share eating this with the community sometime towards the end of the program. Too bad, I never had the chance to see it in being sliced and shared in action. Since I am working here in Manila, I miss a lot of happenings on the province. I can only enjoy what's left of the festival 😂

Yap, the Balili float is very colorful and creative. I actually smiled to myself when I realized what materials they used with the float. It was very clever of them! 😊

Very sweet and amusing publication, @macoolette!

I had never heard of such a thing as a Strawberry Festival in all my life. Thanks a lot for your report and photos.

I would tag a friend of mine who loves mushrooms, but he isn't on Steem. He's still on FB. Mwuauuahahahha! 😂 😂 😂

Yap, I was also amused specially with the float! I can only smile to myself imagining how I look with my struggle to get a good shot of the Balili float from its side. I remember when I was young, there was no such thing as Strawberry Festival in La Trinidad. I think they got the idea from Baguio City with its Panagbenga Festival that made the city very popular.

Oh well, I too am still on FB but not as active as before anymore. Of course, I am here more on Steem. 😃 I was actually thinking of using FB to bring Steem out there for wider adaption. Let's see... Tell your friend to shift to Steem now and be an early adapter before it's too lte. 😊

I've already told all my friends. No one cared. I'm not going to keep pushing it. It's their loss, not mine. They'll probably regret it later. 😄

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=macoolette
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=down-the-strawberry-lane


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @smeralda and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Hiya, @martibis here, just swinging by to let you know you're an honorable mention in today's Travel Digest #479

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team, and if you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

You got a 3.21% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @macoolette! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by macoolette from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64038.60
ETH 3148.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97