You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flüela Pass - one of the most beautiful roads in Switzerland

in #travelfeed5 years ago

Stunning shots as always Martina! Wow, that definitely is a winter wonderland there! I can see from that one shot in the middle how winding that road is. I get nervous driving on roads like that, so @dksart would have to be at the helm for that one. Totally worth it for some of those views, though. Once again you've got me closing my eyes and breathing in that crisp, clean mountain air!

Sort:  

Hahaha, my hubby was driving too but not because I get nervous.. I actually get car sick on such roads when I'm driving :D I have no idea how this is possible but it happened several times already.. we had to stop and change because I couldn't go any further..

The air there was really crisp. So crisp that my hands were feeling like ice cubes after a few seconds of being out of car :D It was very cold. And that wind was terrible. It's that kind of cold that goes directly in your bones :)

Thank you for stopping by, Katie! BTW, do you have snow already?

That's tough to take pictures with frozen fingers! I am sure I would be shocked with how that cold actually feels if I were there.

It actually does not snow too much in my part of the country. The last few winters we have gotten one or two decent bits of snow, but it never lasts long. The bad thing about that is our city is not prepared for it when it does get bad. 4 years ago the entire city was shut down with thousands of people stranded on the icy roads after a storm came in so fast and everyone tried to leave work and school at the same time! It was terrible. My mom had to spend the night at work, my sister was lucky enough to find a hotel, and I know quite a few people who slept in their cars overnight. The rest of the country made fun of us but they just didn't understand how ill-prepared Atlanta is for any inclement weather. Since then if there is even a hint of snow coming everyone runs home because they don't want to get stuck like that ever again!

That being said, I do still like a few snow days during the winter. It just doesn't feel like winter without it! I'm just happy if it comes at a time when I don't have to get out and drive in it. ;)

That doesn't sound good but I understand that it can happen because people are simply not used to snow and they also don't know how to react in traffic if the road is covered with snow. Plus I believe that Atlanta is quite big so there is a lot of traffic anyway. Lot of traffic and icy road is not a good combination.

The funny thing is that similar situations happen in Slovakia too. We have a lot of snow every year but the guys cleaning the streets are always surprised by snow :D Every year they have the same excuse.. there are so many traffic jams and accidents because roads are constantly full of snow..

I also like winter with snow.. And Christmas without it doesn't even feel like Christmas :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62498.25
ETH 3177.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79