You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Living my dream - A trekking experience in the Himalayas - Buran Ghati Trek - Part #2

Awesome post as always. I love your pictures and write-ups.
Your fungi is called an earth ball - looks a lot like a puffball on the outside, but dirty on the inside. Still pretty cool things.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scleroderma_citrinum

Sort:  

Scleroderma citrinum
Scleroderma citrinum, commonly known as the common earthball, pigskin poison puffball, or common earth ball, is the most common species of earthball in the UK and occurs widely in woods, heathland and in short grass from autumn to winter.
Scleroderma citrinum has two synonyms, Scleroderma aurantium (Vaill.) and Scleroderma vulgare Horn.Earthballs are superficially similar to, and considered look-alikes of, the edible puffball, but whereas the puffball has a single opening on top through which the spores are dispersed, the earthball just breaks up to release the spores. Moreover, Scleroderma citrinum has much firmer flesh and a dark gleba (interior) much earlier in development than puffballs. Scleroderma citrinum has no stem but is attached to the soil by mycelial cords.

wow..super cool...Thank you so much, really, for sharing this. Really appreciate it.. I saw this for the first time, even being so many times in the mountains. It's pretty cool, how everytime you could discover something new. <3

A great thing about a platform like Steemit - there's likely to be someone who knows the answer to your question. :-)

I only saw my first earth ball a couple years ago in the mountains of NE Washington. Because of my mushrooming experience and looking through my mother's guide books numerous times, I knew what I saw immediately. I've also seen an old puffball that looks similar-ish, but it still "puffs" out spores whereas the earth ball is just so entirely different. Fungi are cool.

So true. I have never seen a big community like steemit of such great talent. Everyday thr is something new, from all areas. I am so glad to know you, it has somehow inspired me to know more about Fungi. And next time whenever I will come across while traveling, I will remember you for sure - Fungi expert for me. love

No expert, just experienced enough to know which questions to ask. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57038.56
ETH 2908.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65