#Ulog Ep. 4 - Atis Tree (Sugar Apple Tree)

in #trees6 years ago

My share for @surpassinggoogle's #ulog celebrating you and life where we are the celebrities.

I got myself some free time today and a perfect time to work on my macro photography. Some of you might know how much I love photography and still learning as I go on my journey. My subject the tree that my wife planted in front of our house. A tree that has grown tremendously since last year. A tree that bears an exotic fruit that some of you might not know. Hope you spend a little time with me as I share with you how the macro turned out and also learn a little about this tree.

Atis Tree (Sugar Apple Tree)

1.JPG

leaf 10.png

No one really paid any attention to this tree that my wife planted last year. I am amazed how easily she grows plants and trees. She just simply throws the seeds on the ground and after a few days I see something sprouting out from the ground. She already has grown 3 which are all fruit trees. As for me I try so hard to grow plants and they always die on me. Even tried to do a method I saw online where you put the seeds in a cup and cover it with plastic for it to germinate. I could not make it grow and it is so frustrating. I am starting to believe that I do not have that green thumb to make things grow. I'll leave the planting to my wife for now.

3.JPG

The tree is getting so high as it is starting to reach our roof. I may need to trim it down a bit as it may block our water gutter on the roof. It actually started to dry up months ago and leaves started to fall off. Just a month ago it was surprising how it started to flourish and flowers began blossoming.

4.JPG

Ants are also starting to invade the tree. I am not sure if it is good or bad but I would just let them be. As for my macro photography this shot is not good as I could not get it to clearly focus on the ants. Would have been great I got a sharper image. Just look at those two having a conversation.

Ant 1: "Dude where did you get that upvote?
Ant 2: " From a contest you'd better hurry up the voting power is almost gone. Everyone is on it like crazy."
Ant 1: "Dude just share it with me.
Ant 2: "No way bro make your own entry."

5.JPG

Ant 1: " Dude, dude! Share some with me. Ok just Upvote me! Upvote me!
Ant 2: " No way bro this one is all mine. No upvote for you."
Ant 1: " I'm following you. Follow me back! Follow me back"
Ant 2: " I already told you where I got it and I worked hard for it. Do some work and make your own entry".........Unfollowed

6.JPG

I still need a lot of work on my macro. I see a lot of great work out there from pros and with more practice I'll get it soon. Hope I could get some tips from some of our Steemian friends out there which I would greatly appreciate.

7.JPG

It is amazing to see alot of blossoming flowers on the branches. On every branch you could see tiny flowers like this but not all survives. Some just simply dry out and die. I think it needs to be pollinated for it to grow into a fruit. I do not see much insects or bees flying around. How will I be able to attract them? Maybe have my wife plant more flowers instead?

8.JPG

This season I do not see any Sugar Apples at our local market yet. Maybe they are still just starting to grow just like my our tree. I would have loved to share a photo or two of this fruit.

Very rich with vitamin C and anti oxidants. This is also an amazing fruit for pregnant mothers. Reduces nausea and induces milk production. Not only that it helps to ease up the pain during child birth. Wait there's still more as it also helps in the development of the immunity system and the brain of the baby. The taste of the fruit is sweet and creamy inside. An excellent snack for our pregnant mother out there.

10.JPG

11.JPG

More buds are starting to open up and I hope we get a lot of harvest from this tree. I'll do another post when it is time to harvest.

12.JPG

It is also known that there is a variety which are seedless. That would be quite convenient and you would no longer have to deal with the seeds. The tree can also be found in South America and the Bahamas. It thrives is tropical weather but can also survive in cold temperatures.

13.JPG

14.JPG

Now this is a small tiny unripe Sugar Apple fruit and I keep my eye on it every day. I hope that the rest of the flowers would grow as well and we would have a lot to share with neighbors and friends. A miracle fruit and best for our pregnant mothers. Do try to look for it as the benefits are all worth it.

Thanks for spending a little time with me today checking out my photography and this tree.

Love our trees as it is a gift to our future generation. Steem on!

15.JPG

leaf 10.png


Follow @surpassinggoogle to witness an extraordinary person in this platform and vote for @steemgigs as witness
Discovering exceptional content in the community follow @curie and vote as witness
To have a glimpse of awesome content from the Philippines check out @bayanihan
See unique culture from around the world and join the challenge thru #culturevulture by @eroche

All photos are original and taken with

Lumix GX85 and 12-32 mm with macro extension tube

Snake new 2.jpg

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

watersnake101.png

Sort:  

how wonderful is this tree, im glad I have one in pot. this tree is indeed full of nutrients and medicinal properties

True and I cannot wait for the fruit to ripen. It is different when you grow your own.

Sugar Apple Tree sounds great

It is quite delicious

Macco photography is so hard to perfect, especially with moving targets. You did a great job. The conversation between your ants cracked me up. I has also never seen a Sugar Apple before. It doesnt look like an apple at all.

Indeed it is soooo hard last decent shot I got was the strawberry which was just sitting on the table. But thank you for the compliment. The ants well sometimes I tend to eavesdrop on conversions of insects lol. You are right it does not look like an apple not sure how they came up with the name.

last time na nka kain ako nito cguro mga more than 10 years narin.. pero masarap kumain nitong atis..

Ako di masyado pero paminsan minsan pag meron. Bigyan kita pag tumubo haha

Sugar apple, new fruit to me... It sure grows quick there!!
I share your struggles with the macrophotography... The first being its name...I want to call it micro....

I just noticed you whole family seems to be Steemin It! I have added your daughter to my list of kids I try to support ... Supporting the future of our planet!

Trying to talk my son into joining to share about his house build... He's joined us here and is clearing trees and digging his foundation trenches now... I may have to share if he won't...lol

Yes family is in it and I am trying to get them started young. I would like them to be able to find their passion and be able to express it here. My boy is showing potential in art and I am trying to motivate him to pursue his talent. Thank you so much for your support my daughter appreciates the add. I do hope your son joins in as everything under the sun means a lot here.

I'm sorry? From the last year? How? Is it a usual growth rate for this tree species?
Your macro is amazing, definitely every detail is visible.

It grew really fast which is amazing. Maybe my wife has a magic touch in planting. Thanks for the kind words. I will practice some more by shooting more macro.

I applaud you for doing a much better job at microphotography than I ever could.

I was wondering, how small are those Sugar Apples? They kinda look almost like raspberries or blackberries the way they form. :) Awesome Ulog too by the way!

Oh that one is still as big as a berry but once ripe it grows to be a size of an apple.

Ahh thanks for answering. Cool looking exotic fruit I've never seen before. :)

I'm still waiting for it grow and I will show you once it is ripe and how the inside looks like. In case it does not grow or if unfortunately a bird eats it..........I'll just buy one from the market hahaha.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94