You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The exultant return and new theme of Trial by Comics!

Any pessimism I see, I find baffling. I see nothing but opportunity on here. I can reach a pool of people who have never seen my work before, make some of them fans...maybe make money, maybe make money by them buying physical copies off my website, maybe they see me at a convention, maybe they tell someone else.
If there are "whales" or the platform isn't an entirely level playing field who cares? There's no such thing anyway. Steem goes up or down...so what, so does everything. There's opportunity here, and I intend to seize it.

Sort:  

That's absolutely true, @arseniclullaby. There is a tremendous opportunity. When I first joined Steemit, my first post made $1600. At that point, I was all in [...whether that would happen again or not, which it didn't]. I did learn about decentralized networks and as an alternative to Facebook and Instagram, this was a place I could share my work, still own the content and get rewarded for it [...regardless of how much or how little]. The majority of my gains and position on Steemit came during a four month dark period when STEEM was at $0.08 in 2016. The pessimism comes more from a place that I've committed much of my life and career to Steemit and cryptocurrency, so it's not as easy to say "So what", when you've become increasingly more dependent on what you make here or trading. I'll be just fine, but I will have to start booking shoots throughout the summer months, which means I have to travel again, and I've kind of mentally checked out of that in hopes of spending more time on my own comic.

I didn’t know this, but I sympathise with you, traveling for work is not as fun as it sounds. And getting your biggest reward in the beginning of your Steemit life, that’s pretty hard also for the mind to accept, because we’re taught to expect a progress of improvement in our life. I deeply admire your and foxxie’s stamina and constitution for consistently making quality posts since 2016. I hope I can do the same :).

Yeah, @scrawly. During the times when STEEM, and crypto in general are high, it's tough to not allow it to become more and more of your dependent income. During HF19, rewards were insane! Posts were earning $200 - $400/ea. It would take a really disciplined person to not allow yourself to believe this was a viable revenue stream. Even artists I love and respect like @vermillionfox and @eveuncovered have quit their regular jobs to pursue Steemit. There are a lot of benefits, like having the freedom to work on whatever you're inspired to do, and an incredible community of feedback and support, but when a volatile market crashes, it can scare the shit out of you. I'm find with weathering the storm, but this recent storm, I feel, has lasted about six months.

love your attitude and positivity, arsenic :>

Let's see how long it endures XD

Hi @arseniclullaby, you have just got yourself another fan! I love your positive attitude and I will definitely be telling other people about your work. If you want to come and join the IFC Discord group and set up a shop at the marketplace so more people on Steemit can see your work. If you are interested let me know and I will provide more details :)

Hey glad to hear it! I am defiantly interested, I have a lot of trouble navigating discord for some reason, but I will try to find this group, if you don't see me tomorrow (Saturday) it means I couldn't figure how to find it, so just in case- my discord name is ArsenicLullaby#2207 and thanks again!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63138.90
ETH 3290.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89