Ulog 29: Getting By With Some Help: Autumn Garden Clean-Up Begins

in #tribesteemup6 years ago (edited)

When It's Time Clean Up... The Clean Up Team Comes To The Rescue


Not being able to do my yearly garden clean up this year due to some problems I've encountered after a vehicle collision about a month ago, I was at wit's end trying to figure out how I was going to be able to do it. Mu husband works 70 hours per week (seven days a week) and all my family live too far away and my children have their own young families to contend to. So what's a girl to do?

I happened to be in my email spam folder when I came across a newsletter, from a few weeks ago, from a local church looking for people in the area that needed some help. Even though we are not members of the church family, I decided to contact the community coordinator to see if I would and could be eligible.

Imagine my surprise when he said ABSOLUTELY!

So yesterday, a group of eleven volunteers were at my house before 9am to start my fall clean up. All I wanted them to do was weed the flower and herb garden beds, as I am having issues with mobility and flexibility. And I was hoping they could rake up or blow away some of the fallen leaves around the yard.

Boy did they do an AWESOME job!

Not only did they weed ALL the flower, herb and garden beds but they raked every leaf away, used blower to clean off the driveway, emptied out my charcoal BBQ grill ash collector, took down BOTH my greenhouses and packed them away in the boxes, pulled the remains of the zucchini, luffa gourd and yellow squash plants and hauled away ALL the trash from the fall clean up.

garden1.jpg

Stacie and Mary, congregation members and clean up volunteers from the church weed the front flower and herb garden beds; taking a moment to enjoy the scent of my lemon balm.

garden2.jpg

Eric, helps a young volunteer, and shows him the proper way to disassemble my larger greenhouse to pack away for the season.

When all was said and done, each lady who weeded and cleaned up, took home a bagful of lemon balm, sage, oregano and some leftover cucamelons.

I spoke with all three women about my love and passion for gardening as they worked and I mentioned about when we had moved here almost three years ago that I was looking for a community garden locally- because I am VERY limited with my growing allocation here. Well, Stacie, who happens to be the Communications and Connections Director at the church was excited to hear this. She said the church has about 1/2 acre of land behind the main parking lot that could be a perfect place to do such a community project. She added that this could really help seasonally supplement their Community Cupboard.

We exchanged phone numbers and she said she will be taking this idea to the church's pastors and directors to see if a community garden could be done. I offered up some of my heirloom seeds to get them started (as I have an abundance of them) and even offered to be on the committee if this is something that gets approved. I feel so good knowing this may happen and I would be involved. Even though I am a quiet homebody, this is a project I could and would put 100% into.

Another woman who was there volunteering (I apologize as I can't remember her name) was asking me about the herbs and I went on to tell her about my dehydrating, preserving, soap making and all my little projects. She was in awe of all that I do and was wondering if I'd be interested in helping others learn these skills.

OMGosh! No way! Someone wants me to share!! How unbelievable!

After the down feeling I have been living through since my auto collision, these uplifting and encouraging words really made me smile... all the way to my heart and soul.

Also posted to whaleshares @goldendawne

signature.gif

Join Us On Discord

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Although heading into the opposite season, I have also been getting stuck into the garden again, planting all my herbs etc. and getting the garden ready for plenty of outdoors entertaining! Its such a feel good hobby isn't it :) (Especially with such handy helpers... hehe) - although I am guessing you would rather be getting your hands dirty yourself... ;)

Oh yes! I was saddened not being able to get down and dirty, but having these people here was a God-send. It would have taken me a week to do all they accomplished in such a short time.

I've already emailed the pastor a HUGE thank you email and am sending them a thank you card in the mail (snail mail) and will be going up to the church Wednesday night; as they have a group meeting and do some member chatting groups. I feel I need to go there and thank the all personally again.

That's really beautiful! It is always wonderful to see that there are still so many truly GOOD people, willing to be completely selfless in their generosity! And you must be LOVING the "revamped" feeling no doubt ;)

Oh I sure am! My heart was so full yesterday!
After having quite a few down days since the accident, this was an uplifting moment for me.

I am sure!!! :) Hope your body makes a speedy recovery too!!! MWAH!

The things that come from these acts of fate are amazing! Best wishes with this project. I hope we hear a lot more about it. Blessings during your recovery @goldendawne 🙏❤🌞🌙💫

Oh so true!! Never had I been so overcome with gratefulness than after this.

They said they do this every second Saturday from March until November for the community. Isn't that wonderful!

It's so wonderful what communities can accomplish! It's really wonderful indeed. I connect with you well since i am healing from a near fatal car crash July 2017. And, marriage sparation/ family 'reorganization' a month later. It's only now that i am coming out of survival mode. It's a wild ride no doubt. Recovery is an interesting process. Blessings friend! I am blessed by being alongside you in this journey! Hugs ❤🌅🙏🌙💫🌞

Glad things are looking up.
Is your husband a contractor? Lol
I usually work 7 days a week. With the ranch project it seems like I work harder on the weekends.
Hopefully the community garden works out.

No he is NOWHERE near a handyman or contractor- lol
He is a skills tradesman... I am so looking forward to learning more after the church discusses the possibility.

I'm so happy for you, it's truly great to have found a community that appreciates your skills, they will be very lucky to have you!

That’s great. Nice community there. I would like to get involved more in my community here, but I am not a church person and here you definitely have to be a member of the church.

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.747 which ranks you at #1413 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 9 places in the last three days (old rank 1422).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 278 contributions, your post is ranked at #192.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

How cool is this, finding a place for a community garden! I am glad you got such good help cleaning up.

This sounds like an awesome team to help with cleanup! Not only did you get your yard work done well, but you also met some new friends! Not bad offers of land and getting involved in a community garden either! Hope you are feeling better soon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94