Autumn Reflections | Turtle Medicine

in #tribesteemup6 years ago (edited)

Autumn is arguably my favorite season. It always seem to carry a sense of coziness as the summer warmth is wrapping up. I have been reflecting lately on how the season went and opening up to shifts that are needed. The theme that is most present is:

8A2018F6-DDED-48C6-AB3B-9C0B7D03E7CE.jpeg
adapted from source

Reviewing goals and expectations is a great way to reassess your life and receive feedback.

In looking at the past 3 years (has it been that long?!) since we purchased this piece of land, I'm seeing just how much has changed. My relationship to this patch of Earth has been permanently shifted as I have accepted the role of Steward (thankfully in partnership with Wren). There have been many ups and downs and it's time to get some perspective.

I've realized that my eyes have been BIG, wanting so much to manifest all the abundance potential of this great bioregion.

One major element up to this point has been getting everything established RIGHT NOW! It has been in an effort to get our needs met and realize our dream, but it has been a lot of intensity to manage and handle. I'm ready for a shift. After spending a few days away from the homestead I gained some great perspective and once again realized the importance of taking some time...

As I was clearing land for a future planting, I came upon a turtle.

I stopped and said hello and held the small and protected reptile for a brief moment before setting it free. I watched it continue on unfazed and determined to reach its unknown destination. The steady yet slow strength it exuded was what touched my the most.

The turtle was certainly on a mission, but was going about it in such a delightfully unhurried manner I couldn't help but take note.



I've been reflecting on the year and planning for the future

I'm considering what I can learn from this encounter and how I can apply the wisdom of SLOW and STEADY. I own that any outward change begins from within and I've been working on loosening my grip on outcomes and timeframe. I'm allowing in a greater perspective to take the stage where there's a more relaxed unfolding on events. Where actions are still guided by the strength of vision, just toned down a little on the volume.

It's time to integrate and restructure, the turtle is good medicine for this.

I took a few moments by the creek after putting the tools away. I am always reminded on the beauty and magic of water as I commune with the flowing water and refresh myself. Not only is my body cleaned and reset, but my psyche and spirit as also cleansed.

water-3653141_960_720.jpg

source

I'm taking this autumn to really take a look at where I'm headed, be more gentle with my self, release my expectations, be more like the turtle in the slow, steady and intentional actions and embody water's fluid strength.

What are you considering the Autumn?

Sort:  

Certainly a lot that could be learned from the turtle movement. The focus, determination and precision are second to none. Autumn is indeed a great time to reflect even as we seek to make changes before the year runs out in anticipation of a new year

Indeed, well said. This time is prime as the major harvests come in and in hunker down time. I've been keeping my eye out for more turtles.

I'm taking your words to heart, they are JUST what I needed to hear today, thank you (perfect antidote to my meltdown this morning, lol!)

It's time to integrate and restructure
.....apply the wisdom of SLOW and STEADY. I own that any outward change begins from within and I've been working on loosening my grip on outcomes and timeframe.....actions are still guided by the strength of vision

So glad the words touched you. I sat down to write not knowing what I was writing about. I found solace in the words as I typed them. It's an interested way to process and am happy that they acted as salve for you too ;)

Great reflections...wonderful wisdom we all could live by! Turtles can be our teachers too :) ox

they certainly can be! one of the first creatures we saw on the land the first time we walked it... that and ticks... wonder what ticks teach ;) lol

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

The turtle to me represents the natural pace of things. When you try to rush things, it doesn't work and often unnecessarily complicated things. Things will happen when they are supposed to and you can't rush that. When you procrastinate, that turtle keeps moving and eventually you get behind and stressed. We are getting ready to make some big changes in our lives. Not ready yet but I know I should start some things in progress or I will not be ready when we want to make those changes.

Well said. It's the constant movement at a slow pace that carries the real power. The big changes are always best to be set for. We are chipping away at some bigger projects bit by bit as it's the only way to move ahead.

Best of luck with the shifts ahead.

Congratulations @mountainjewel! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard
Introducing SteemitBoard Ranking

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

The turtle is so unique. It is slow but definitely sure that it will reach its destiny

o yes, it may take longer but i'm sure there peace along the path.

I've always thought the tortoise or the turtle a wise creature to emulate. Slow and steady may not always win the race but you can stop and smell the roses along the way and if you consider where you are your home (as in your shell) then you can always try to find comfort and joy where you happen to be at the time.

I love Autumn and the scent and colours as well. I'm looking forward to the change in light and scent and sound.

so true. I should go smell some roses right now, there's a few in bloom. What you say rings true as the journey is more meaningful than the destination, although I myself often lose sight of this...

The quality of cool october sunsets is unparalleled.

Great advice, as long as you dont hide away completely in your shell. I LOVE turtles. 🐢🐢💚💚

hehe. It takes too much darn energy to stay in my shell all the time. The turtle didn't even retreat when I picked it up either.

Hi @mountainjewel!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.679 which ranks you at #1509 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 15 places in the last three days (old rank 1494).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 302 contributions, your post is ranked at #19.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85