What Empowers Me? TribeSteemUp BiWeekly Question

IMG_4275.JPG

I had a very interesting conversation with a friend of mine last night, we stayed up way too late talking about the way in which we each choose to react to stressful situations in life. I can honestly say, that I have had quite a lot of drama enter my life in the last year.

I have had numerous things happen recently, where I could have easily justified, just throwing my hands up in the air and walking away. Of saying enough is enough and burying my head in the sand. Yes I have felt completely overwhelmed and over stretched of late. But I know that I can get through all of this, I know that all of those moments pass and I do what I have always done, I just carry on.

My friend then asked me how my childhood was, if i came from a happy and loving home. Because to him it sounded like I had very strong foundations in place, from very early on in my life.

But the thing is, I didn't have a happy childhood. I never really felt wanted or loved when I was a child. In fact during my early years I grew up in a violent home. So how to explain where this strength came from, this strong faith that I have in myself, knowing that I can and will manage with what life brings to me. This optimistic view, that everything will be okay.

That was quiet easy for me to answer, because during all those years I still had a very stable environment that I could go to, a place where I felt nurtured and safe.Where was it?

vM1pGHgNcyCXUWJECrZbvn1NMPj1oFGUo3gYfF3NNPRD9b29dTwcnmN2sp79H9URC89RPAdjED7TRcWoA922Pm25vsWmpz8CwTgwURWB7uxMGamw9a1T7sFj3HNzeWL8F1rPFX4.jpeg

Nature! I literally spend hours everyday, outside roaming the countryside, climbing trees and hiding in the grass. I felt so happy and free there, I felt whole. No matter what was going on in my family home, I knew I just had to go outside, to one of my favorite spots and there I felt secure.

I could be who I was, there was no need to be quiet and submissive, outside I could speak loudly and sing, sing to my hearts content. I could fully express who I was without any fear, any ridicule. I went into nature drained and sometimes scared, but I always came away feeling recharged and anew. I felt so connected with nature, I felt so at ease and at one with all the plant and animal kingdom and that is something that I have carried with me everyday of my life.

That connection stands as strong today, as it did when I was a little girl. And along with it, my confidence has growth, so that now the strength that I drew from nature, I now know that I can draw from myself. Because I am as much a part of nature, as it is of me.

IMG_4326.JPG

I know that everything happens in cycles, that everything changes all the time and I embrace that part of my life. I embrace the many parts of me that brought me pain and sorrow, that challenged me and forced me to make choices that I stand by. I embrace the good, the bad and the ugly, because every part makes me who I am. Yet who I am is transforming and growing all the time.

I trust in the natural flow of life, in the flow of energy that we exchange with one another and all living things. I let myself feel and experience and yes it is difficult and so damn hard at times, but I know that just as all that came into my life, it will leave, as long as I allow it too. There is no need to hold on, instead we need to acknowledge and embrace, to honor and be present with what is happening in our lives.

I draw my power from within and also from the many things that I do that help me express who I am, that feed into my creative force. I am empowered because of the way I live my life, a life where I am constantly trying to live in harmony with the earth. I am empowered because of all that my ancestors have done, so that I can have the life that I have now. I am empowered because I listen to myself and allow myself to be guided by my own hand. I am empowered because I have taken responsibility for my life, my health, for my actions.

What empowers you ?

This post is in response to the TribeSteemUp BiWeekly Question, which is open to everyone to answer. Make sure to check out some of the other responses which you will find under the tribesteemup tag. By coming together and engaging with one another we can share our wisdom, our knowledge and help to empower one another.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I could not agree more with you @trucklife-family. When things are getting hard for me there may be no better remedy than for me to get outdoors. I make it a habit to run 5 miles each Saturday and Sunday morning through a trail on a lake near where I live. Doesn't matter if it is freezing and snowing outside or hot and humid. Each time I run through this trail it is rejuvenating for my soul. I feel such a strong connection to nature. I'm sorry to hear that your childhood was difficult. You are not alone in that regard - but at least you have found a way to fuel positivity into your life. Thank you for another great post and sharing your perspective.

Congratulations @trucklife-family! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 2500 replies. Your next target is to reach 2750 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

such a beautiful post, I've always run to nature, sometimes walking for hours or just lying there listening and feeling safe. It's a funny thing, today we encountered two black bears and it was scary because of our dogs and how they were charging for the bears, not a creature was harmed and all was well in the end but you just never know how those situations might turn out. I still I feel safe in the forest even knowing that I am a very small/weak creature in the grand scheme of things.

thank you lovely, wow I would love to see bears in the wild, of course it would be scary but such an honour as well xx

You are 100% beautiful and strong and loving and kind. Our childhood certainly molds us, but we ultimately have the choice to be positive despite the negativity around us. I love you 🌻

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you @merej99 for your beautiful words xxx much love to you too xx

Such simple clarity, my dear, which always comes from true alignment. A lovely post that feels fresh and whole. Thank you.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

It's so nice to see what a powerful effect nature can have, to teach a young person confidence in themselves and the world around them, even if the home doesn't. Thank you for this wonderful article, I greatly enjoyed reading it.

Posted using Partiko Android

ah thank you @stortebeker xx

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01