You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anti-Intellectualism and the Willingly Worn Bonds of Self-Oppression

in #truth6 years ago (edited)

When I was in college, occasionally, some people would ask me why I was taking classes in anthropology and literature. What was it that I was planning to do after I graduated? Why did I end up with a double BA and keep taking classes even though I could have graduated a year earlier than I did? I'd mumble that it was cheaper to take undergraduate classes than graduate classes, so it was better to delay graduation as long as possible. The same people would shake their heads and dismiss my explanation as the product of too much Macro.

Be that as it may, as years went by, a number of the supposed "useless" classes I took helped qualify me to teach some 100-level courses at a few overseas American university branch campuses.

Study whatever you want, all knowledge helps us as we wander through the fog of existence.

I love your line: "Learn everything and be liberated."

Sort:  

Thank you. Yeah sometimes that stuff comes in handy sometimes. I once worked a horrible telemarketing job and I use argumenitive techniques that I learned all the time. I guess you never know what is going to pay off at some point.

The anti-learning attitude is more common than people think. The thing that comes to mind is some southerner who "don't need no books" but pretty much any group with an ideology has some taboo knowledge or subject.

I grew up with a skeptical mind in a religious, "respect your elders" household that would meet many inquiries with "because I said so". At the time, I wanted to be a good child and please so I would accept and push away reasoning. I have dragged myself out of that sesspool, but critical thinking and effective debate skills had some serious growing to do once I ended that period of my life. I have been working hard but I don't think many people understand how big of a hurdle they place in front of someone when they demand this anti-intellectualism. Won't put myself through a telemarketing position, as it would be a terrible match for my strengths, but I am always looking for knowledge to grow deeper in my understanding of myself and my communities through meaningful discussion, especially over the uncomfortable topics like this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98