Sort:  

List of animals displaying homosexual behavior
For these animals, there is documented evidence of homosexual behavior of one or more of the following kinds: sex, courtship, affection, pair bonding, or parenting, as noted in researcher and author Bruce Bagemihl's 1999 book Biological Exuberance: Animal Homosexuality and Natural Diversity.
Bagemihl writes that the presence of same-sex sexual behavior was not "officially" observed on a large scale until the 1990s due to possible observer bias caused by social attitudes towards LGBT people, making the homosexual theme taboo. Bagemihl devotes three chapters; Two Hundred Years at Looking at Homosexual Wildlife, Explaining (Away) Animal Homosexuality and Not For Breeding Only in his 1999 book Biological Exuberance to the "documentation of systematic prejudices" where he notes "the present ignorance of biology lies precisely in its single-minded attempt to find reproductive (or other) 'explanations' for homosexuality, transgender, and non-procreative and alternative heterosexualities." Petter Bøckman, academic adviser for the Against Nature? exhibit stated "[M]any researchers have described homosexuality as something altogether different from sex.

In captivity animals can definitely be gay. I have seen this myself. There are articles that say "homosexual behaviour" has been witnessed in animals in the wild, but what is homosexual behaviour? That's a perceptions.

Animals are not bound by the same social norms as us, so if a monkey grabs another monkeys penis - both male - a scientist looking to promote gayness as natural will of course document that as homosexual behaviour. But someone who think that homosexuality is not natural would perhaps see it as the monkey checking to see if the other monkey had injured his penis or who knows what. That might be weird in our world, but we don't know what it means for them. My dog will often go up and sniff another dogs cock, but he's never tried to have sex with a male dog. He has tried with females. So things we regard as homosexual behaviour in animals may not be homosexual at all.

With all the nature documentaries on TV, if there were gay animals in Africa I expect we would have seen video evidence of it by now. But, I imagine we have not because homosexuality seems to be a byproduct of living in captivity, which might very well explain why it is effecting us to such a degree right now..

Homosexual behavior in animals
Homosexual behavior in animals is sexual behavior among non-human species that is interpreted as homosexual or bisexual. This may include same-sex sexual activity, courtship, affection, pair bonding, and parenting among same-sex animal pairs. Research indicates that various forms of this are found in every major geographic region and every major animal group. The sexual behavior of non-human animals takes many different forms, even within the same species, though homosexual behavior is best known from social species.

I don't know what they are doing here but I do not think it gay sex. The comments on the video suggest mock mating, but I do not even know about that.

I have had to take my dog to vet twice because he has got an erection that wouldn't go back in his sheath. The second vet said to me that my boy just had a large penis and so this can happen, but I find it hard to believe that his body is designed in such a way that this could happen.

Perhaps this video you have linked might explain? Perhaps if he had done this to another dog, human, or even pillow on occasion, it would have kept his penis in good working order for when a chance to mate does arrive?

I don't know. But, it's certainly an interesting video that I definitely cannot outright say that is not sex. I have a feeling I am going to be watching some weird videos over the next few days in response to this.

Thanks for sharing it.

As for the mating, "I’ve never seen male-to-male interaction like that, and I’ve been working [in Botswana] for 20 years," she says. "I would say it's more likely a maned lioness."

You may find this interesting

I was unaware that there were lionesses with manes. It's likely I would never have learned this if not for your video; so thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61852.61
ETH 3084.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83