You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Not Everyone Would Like You. II, Contributed by @Olawalium

in #truth6 years ago

Not everyone will like or love you, so stop living your life trying to impress people.

The people who want to impress others are those who do not know themselves. If you truly knew yourself, if you truly knew who you are at your core, you will now that what you truly want in life cannot be found in other people.

If we take a closer look at what makes somebody want to impress others, you will discover that what drives this need to impress is an unhealthy or perhaps an unhelpful belief that one has about oneself. I know, because I have been there. In my late teens and early twenties, I felt the need to impress. I looked within for answers, and that is where I found the truth. I wanted to impress because I wanted to prove to myself that I was special, and this was driven by a belief that I was not good enough. I grew out of that belief (thank goodness) and into newer, healthier ones.

If you find yourself constantly trying to impress others, you need to look within yourself to find what belief you have that is driving this desire to impress.

Sort:  

Very good. Well said. You know, as humans, we love hearing good things being said about us and for someone whose life depends on always hearing good stuffs, they tend to take to heart too much, if anything negative was said. They forget who they are and be who people think they are. Once we know who we are, accolades would be a bonus, and negatives would be for strength. It is not easy, but never impossible. It was a long journey for me to get there too, and i am glad i did.

Thanks a lot for this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64230.75
ETH 3149.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85