Sense8 (Netflix series): Good show, takes AGES to get moving

in #tv5 years ago

To be honest, if it weren't for the presence of Korean actress Doona Bae, I would have given up after a couple episodes. I think she is a fantastic actress but of course her presence on screen is a bit limited since she is acting in English. I find it absurd when TV show or films take obviously overseas locations and then have everyone speak English.... poorly.


source

Some might view this as a spoiler but it is in the damn trailer so I'm just gonna say it. The entire premise behind the film is that these people are emotionally and physically tied to one another and they are able to share their own abilities that they earned independently because of this connection. It doesn't matter that they are located all over the world, at times they use abilities such as speaking other languages, fighting, or mechanics without even thinking about it... they just know these things all of a sudden and it is as though their bodies are taken over by someone else for a bit.


source*there are many individual and independent story-lines, but the one about a Kenyan bus driver is one of the more interesting ones

Each individual member of the Sense8's involvement is revealed slowly, and the fact that they have this ability is revealed to us slowly (I would say too slowly and this is because of the 10 episodes per season rule that I hate) by a specter from the LOST series, Sayid.

sense8-naveen-andrews-brian-j-smith-02.jpg
source

Sayid is actually called "Jonas" (cue Weezer music) in this series, and he seems to be unaffected by time and space. I am yet to figure out what his deal is but he seems to be a messenger or leader of the Sense8 and he travels around the world being very cryptic about what they need to do next. It seems strange, since he could save a lot of time by just being more direct. Well, i suppose if he was more straight-forward, reaching 10 episodes could be a bit problematic.

If you are very patient, you might enjoy this. I'm kind of on the fence about it because I actually clean my house while it is on because there is probably around 8 minutes of actual story progression in each episode (I made that up but yeah, there is a LOT of downtime) and this normally happens at the very end which leads you to really wanting to watch the next episode despite the fact that you were bored for a vast majority of the one you just watched. I think this might be part of the reason why this show was cancelled after 2 seasons.

I will likely continue to watch this show, but in a very "back burner" sort of way.

Rating intentionally withheld until later :P

Sort:  

I totally agree, it is definitely a slow burner at the beginning. Once it gets going though, I think it is pretty fantastic. This was probably one of the most sweeping and engrossing things I have ever watched on Netflix. To me the concept was pretty mind blowing and when they finally start bringing everything together it is pretty awesome. There are a couple scenes in the first season that really stand out in my mind. I think part of the reason they cancelled it is because the production costs were so high. I think they were basically filming on five different continents so that could have been part of it. Also with such a huge cast the salaries might have been an issue. The good news is via season 2 and a couple of movie specials it wasn't cancelled without some kind of conclusion.

yeah, they wrapped it up with a 2.5 hour series finale but only after a whole lotta fan complaints.

Uff.... para mi es muy interesante la forma que la presentan, Saludos....

I'm curious. Do you read my English articles and then respond in Spanish?... because your messages definitely aren't spam as they always relate to what I was talking about.

I am a fan of this series thanks for the topic @gooddream

Actually, the movie is very beautiful and it's a great story to make the heart of the movie..greet post

same response by you for 2 completely different and unrelated articles. Awesome buddy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72