Ulog #4 - Laughter is The Best Medicine

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

Do you ever have days where you just feel raw and vulnerable? That's how my day started. I knew I needed to get out there and comment on people's posts. I read some really good ones! I usually try to start with people I actually know like @snook, @isaria, @dreemsteem, @bluefinstudios, @zen-art etc.... should be easy right? While I really do enjoy their posts, on days like today I hesitate to comment. Why?

Remember when I mentioned that "stinking thinking" in Ulog #2, when you doubt yourself and have all kinds of stupid thoughts about the world around you? Well this was today.

Then, out of the blue I was summoned to a secret room by @shadowspub, @snook and @simgirl. "Come help us test out our dlive live stream." I almost didn't go, anxious that in my current mood I would say the wrong thing. There's that "stinking thinking" but I went! I'm so glad I did. Laughter really is the best medicine!! Thank you Ladies! You don't know it but you saved my day.

I have to share this DM that someone sent me the day after I briefly mentioned that I deal with depression:

"Hi, I'm just dropping you a note to tell you that you shouldn't be sharing such personal information. When people know about your mental health issues they could be turned off. This would be a shame."

The only shame is that you actually think/feel this way. The one thing you accomplished was to tick me off. You showed me that the topic of Mental Health should be talked about until uneducated people, like yourself, understand your ignorance.

Actually, I should thank you. You inspired me to start a series of videos to show the people who do fight mental health issues that they are not alone and should never feel shame.

If you'd like to add your voice please share and use the tag #mha. I know it's not easy to put yourself out there but sometimes it's worth it!

If your curious, my day ended up being a good one! Sometimes all it takes is some laughter to put things right. Also, attending The Talk of The Line over on The Steem Engine discord always lifts my spirits. If you haven't attended this show you should check it out Tuesdays @4pm edt.

Until next time friends...


Coffee Hour

Now streamed live on the Steem Star Network

.

.

.

Sort:  

YOU have no idea how much you helped ME today!!! Thank YOU so much for coming and helping. It would not have been as easy and as much fun without your laughter too!!!

and please let me know when you are ready to interview me. I have a camera and can travel to your house in seconds :D

love You

HUGS back! gentle hugs.... You were bursting and I'm so happy you did. Thank you.

Right on @artemisnorth ... ignorant people don't get to decide what illnesses people can speak of. That person wouldn't have dared to make such a comment if you had a broken arm.

You said it sister!! Thanks!

I love that phrase "stinking thinking"!
My brain is constantly doing that!
And I know what you mean about hesitating to leave comments...that's why I always leave psychic comments. lol
As far as what that person said to you in DM, you're spot on with educating. Society views depression and other mental health issues as some dark taboo secret that needs to remain hidden. That in itself is unhealthy. Life is filled with darkness and light. Ignoring the darkness doesn't make it disappear. I'm looking forward to your video series.
<3

Thanks!! Did you get my first reply to your comment? I sent it psychicly...LOL!! Love ya Girl!

That person does not know what he/she is saying. I had clinical depression, a severe one, a couple of years ago and I did write a couple of posts here about it. People were very nice, supportive and wanted to talk, asked me questions, showed interest and I even got some additional followers. I do not know how many people were turned off. Honestly? I do not care and think that neither should you. Don't let it get you and keep being your amazing and fantastic self 💚

I'm so happy you worked through your depression. I won't let it get to me...... Thanks for your sweet words.

Awwa. I am glad we could help you have fun and you could laugh for a little while. Thanks for bringing this subject to light and for making the new tag!

Tommarow we will release the voting post for the Bad Karaoke contest and you can watch all of the videos in one place. They will be sure to make you laugh. We won't be voting on them until next week... Thanks for all your help all the time!!!!

Sure will make me laugh.....thanks @sandrabullock @simgirl.... LOL!!! You're awesome!

You are Welcome!!!!! Have a great night!

"Hi, I'm just dropping you a note to tell you that you shouldn't be sharing such personal information. When people know about your mental health issues they could be turned off. This would be a shame."

Excuse my French , but tell this person to F@ck the hell off :( And it sounds like you did in so many words. So Thank you @artemisnorth :)

Anyway, just ask this same person if he would be soooooo afraid to talk about having diabetes or lung cancer. It's the same with mental illness... much like the lungs or heart the brain can become sick as well.

And that's not a damn thing to be ashamed about . Not at all .It's people like that person who DMed you that perpetuates this stigma. And it's flat out wrong!

Thank you for sharing @artemisnorth and creating that series . And I plan to check out.

Thanks for your support! If this hadn't happened I wouldn't be making the videos so it all works out.

WHAT A DIIIIICCCKKK!! I can understand the whiney ones and the people who play victim, yes that is a turn off and it is negative vibes, but you have NEVER been the type to play vicitim and you're very much a warrior <3 I'm so with this movement and I will be doing posts with it now ( is the #mha the tag?) My music fits this topic ;) you've got the gears turning now!

Tell me what you really feel...LOL!! Thanks Dez..... and yes #mha ... this tag is really old so I think it's time it came back... stands for Mental Health Awareness. I'll be looking for your post!!!

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 11.02% upvote!
I was summoned by @artemisnorth. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94