You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ULOG: A word of mouth movement for explaining what Ulogs is

in #ulog6 years ago

I think Ulogs are a marvelous thing!

It's actually somewhat funny to think that in the "early" Internet of social blogging, the standard format WAS something very much like Ulogs: People would start a blog, and it was pretty much to share their personal thoughts and daily life.

Then Facebook happened (2006) and people were somehow "trained" that if you wanted to write or share "fun stuff" you needed to be on Facebook, and suddenly "blogs" were far more about serious publishing where you should have a niche topic or even a business... and stick to your topic.

The funny part is that now Terry has sort of "reinvented" something from a long time ago... and people have to be "taught" that it's OK to just create content that's about yourself and not something serious. Anyway, it was very cool of you to have this contest!

=^..^=

Sort:  

When I started blogging in the days of wordpress and blogspot most people I know indeed used theirs as "personal" blogs or online diaries.

I kept mine as a place to write crappy poems hahahha

Some would have it as recipe blogs and talk about their lives and a lot became travel bloggers. This I think created the need to have a certain niche because people would follow you for writing or posting about a specific piece of content and it would be hard if it is so all over the place.

Like right now my Steemit profile is all over the place and is mostly about me and my musings hahaha. Sometimes it can be serious as I talk about Steem matter. Sometimes it is funny or I try to be when I join the Comedy Open Mic.

This was a wonderful contest to be in and get other people to say how they think Ulog is :)

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63153.76
ETH 3045.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97