Content, Popularity and the Ulog Phenomenon...

in #ulog6 years ago

I don't typically suffer from insomnia, but sometimes my brain goes into overdrive late at night, and the only way to move on is to simply do a brain dump.

So I was "noodling" the whole "Ulog" phenomenon that seems to be sweeping the community at the moment, along with it's greater implications. Because that's what I do... what some people might characterize as "thinking too much."

In Case You Have Been Living Under a Rock...

Hydrangea
One of our unusual hydrangeas

Ulogs are the brainchild of @surpassinggoogle — surely one of Steemit's hardest working community champions and the man behind #SteemGigs and the @steemgigs witness — and are, as the name suggests, blogs about YOU. About us. About individuals.

You can watch Terry's original YouTube Ulog video here, if you'd like a more thorough explanation of his vision.

I suppose someone might argue that everything we create here is a "Ulog" in some sense, but the vision isn't really about picking a subject and writing about "it;" it's about creating an Internet archive of people's lives; not of celebrities, but of everyday folks living their lives.

In a sense he's right in saying that the Internet is often "boring" because it's about the "it" called information, rather than people. I don't personally happen to find the Internet "boring," but I also recognize that my opinion comes from the perspective of being a writer, researcher and old web geek... not so much "just an ordinary person."

Content "Value" and The Mass Adoption Question

We talk a lot about "Quality Content," and "Adding Value," and — conversely — so-called "shitposts" here on Steemit. 

Salvia
Blooming salvia

Personally, I favor "adding value" over "quality;" value comes in many forms.

And that's where I got to thinking about the "value" of Ulogs to the extended Steemit ecosystem. 

Let's get real here: If we have any aspirations to have Steemit enjoy some form of "mass adoption" down the road (after HF.20, perhaps?), the community has to have a more diverse "backbone" than Steemit talk, cryptocurrencies, blockchainiacs and maybe some gaming and developer talk. Nothing against those topics, but they are "niche" topics, not general world topics.

Ulogs — even if it's just someone rambling on about cleaning their fish tank — adds a distinctly human element... and supports what I've been railing on about for over a year now: Communities are built by PEOPLE not by TECH. Technology — however brilliant or revolutionary — is still just "a framework." It takes PEOPLE to make it "go" somewhere.

Several of my long-time friends here on Steemit have pointed out how the blockchain is a perfect way to create a more or less "permanent record" of both ideas and lives... and Ulogs seem to fit that bill, on some level.

Finding Their Place...

So before you might become critical and start equating Ulogs with shitposts because they are not "about" something, consider that the personal recordings of individual lives is a very different proposition from copy-pasta or spun content posted for no purpose other than to make a few cents. Or dollars. Or whatever.

Vinca
Vinca minor

And Ulogs also aren't "just for redfish and minnows." Because everybody has personal aspects to their lives. I don't think the intention of Ulogs is to be a "device" to become known, or help newcomers... so much a categorization tag to help identify a specific type of content.

At least... that's my interpretation. 

Although it wouldn't surprise me if some "profiteer" decided there were a way to "market" Ulogs as a tool to make money with, rather than allow them to simply follow their original course...

And so, here I sit, in the wee hours of the night... contemplating whether a post "about" Ulogs can actually BE a ulog, since it's not about me making dinner and cleaning the catboxes. 

As I said, I tend to overthink things!

How about YOU? What do you think of Ulogs? Have you read any? Have you tried this "personal" approach to content creation? Do you think they could help add a "human element" to Steemit? Or do you feel they are basically a new category of "trash" post? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!


Animated banner created by @zord189

(As usual, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 180607 00:57 PDT

Sort:  

I like ulogs generally although I had no idea that's what they were called.

When I was creating mine some months ago, I was calling them vlogs. That's what I called them back in the day but it seems they have been remarketed.

They are certainly not a new phenomenon. I've been creating them on and off since early YouTube days.

However, the guy who's vlogs I was following and who commented a lot on mine has since stopped making them and leading the way so I lost confidence.

Also, the other person who really enjoyed them and always engaged with them is rarely here nowadays. Creating vlogs that no-one responds to is somehow harder to take than posts.

I was given a new headset with mic for Mother's Day back in March but I've never used them.

Maybe it would be worth giving it another go. Maybe some of my newer engagers would like them. Hmmm. Not sure. Will have to think about it. 😁

Hi Gillian, let me back up for a second... Vlogs (aka Video Blogs) are a still a thing, and a "Ulog" can also be a Vlog.

Just to clarify, a Ulog (as I understand it) is basically first person life story telling... as opposed to posts that are more "information," like "New features on Dtube" or "Best restaurants in Glasgow." They are recordings; snapshots of our lives. People do them as text; as Vlogs; as mixed media; as artistic expression. I think the point is that they don't have "a topic;" the topic is YOU. And your life.

Maybe it's a subtle distinction... I've long been sort of an analyst and trend watcher, so I'm always looking at what people are doing; this appealed to me because it seems to sort of *humanize" Steemit a little bit more... and I like what Terry is (inadvertently?) doing, because telling stories "about our lives" also takes some of the focus away from the eternal "make money, make money, make money" that seems to have become so pervasive.

I just have been confused that they got rebranded as "ulogs" when the same thing has online been called "personal blog."

Two months ago, I posted a summary of the reasons I wanted to use the Steemit blockchain, unknowingly describing the Ulog process. I wanted a way of recording information about ME! Cyberspace is chock full of technical information and it is so pervasive it is hard to find an avenue for self-expression amid the clutter of "how all this works" talk.

The Ulog concept allows both self-expression and a way to communicate with old and new friends across the planet and across time. If you need to wax poetic about the internal operations of the blockchain or how to make the casserole using the secret family recipe, those are two vastly different aspects of your inner self, and each needs a proper outlet.

Ulog is a new, much needed blockchain version of the selfie!

Ulog is a new, much needed blockchain version of the selfie!

I like that analogy @willymac!

It's funny (and sad) how long the web has resisted the "personal." In the beginning, all the "nerds" who built the idea were resistant; but then "academics" were also considered OK. The web was dragged — kicking and screaming — into the commercial age, and it was slowly agreed that being able to buy goods and services without leaving the house was not such a terrible idea.

As for the "personal," it tends to have been limited. As a blogger, there was a brief period around 2001-07 where "social blogging" was a thing, but Facebook pretty much put an end to that by inventing "smiley culture." If you're going to be "personal," at l;east do it with a few emoticons...

In a sense, Ulogs represent a return to the early 2000's style... and I like that idea.

It is a bit odd that the nerds wanted privacy but fell over themselves sharing their latest discovery/creation, and included a detailed CV to anyone who would take it. A matter of perspective, I suppose.

Another possible reason for reluctance to be personal is the fear of revealing damaging private information. Now that it is clear that anyone collecting data already has it from other sources, maybe people will loosen up on that fear. The more Ulogging happens, the easier it will be for the concept to spread. It seems to me that the time is better now than ever for it to flourish.

I agree that the late 70's and up to the early 00's were a lot looser on the personal level than now. I miss those days!

What do you think of Ulogs? Have you read any? Have you tried this "personal" approach to content creation?

Well my dear friend @denmarkguy. A month ago I Ulogged once.

And then, a second time and nothing new happened.

Or do you feel they are basically a new category of "trash" post?

So, judging by my results. Yeah! prolly my #Ulogs have gone to the new category of "trash" posts!! }:)

Well, I wouldn't be so sure much is going to "happen" when creating Ulogs, other than perhaps people feeling more freedom to post "whatever" as opposed to having a specific topic.

I would see them more as a tool to "be part of" the community than to earn rewards. But I'm not the originator...

My brain never shuts up with endless things. Its 4am and I'm up still. My normal day. I hope you are able to get some sleep soon if not already.

As far as the ulog I've seen a few. Terry is always coming up with something amazing for people to get involved in.

Well, I managed to get in five hours, which is better than nothing at all.

Ulogs seem to be spreading. Terry was originally helping newbies, but I don't see why the idea wouldn't be appropriate for anyone sharing something other than "information."

It s completely true that giving something away from yourself gives you an edge on the steem blockchain.
I write about three niches but in each of then I try to give them a personal touch!
I did see lots of Ulog posting appear on my feed but wasn’t aware what it was about. So thanks for the explanation!
#steemitbloggers

You're welcome! My writing has long had a more "anecdotal" style, even when writing about "serious" topics... always drove my editors nuts because they didn't want "first person" anywhere near article content...

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

great writing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97