You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Content, Popularity and the Ulog Phenomenon...

in #ulog6 years ago

I like ulogs generally although I had no idea that's what they were called.

When I was creating mine some months ago, I was calling them vlogs. That's what I called them back in the day but it seems they have been remarketed.

They are certainly not a new phenomenon. I've been creating them on and off since early YouTube days.

However, the guy who's vlogs I was following and who commented a lot on mine has since stopped making them and leading the way so I lost confidence.

Also, the other person who really enjoyed them and always engaged with them is rarely here nowadays. Creating vlogs that no-one responds to is somehow harder to take than posts.

I was given a new headset with mic for Mother's Day back in March but I've never used them.

Maybe it would be worth giving it another go. Maybe some of my newer engagers would like them. Hmmm. Not sure. Will have to think about it. 😁

Sort:  

Hi Gillian, let me back up for a second... Vlogs (aka Video Blogs) are a still a thing, and a "Ulog" can also be a Vlog.

Just to clarify, a Ulog (as I understand it) is basically first person life story telling... as opposed to posts that are more "information," like "New features on Dtube" or "Best restaurants in Glasgow." They are recordings; snapshots of our lives. People do them as text; as Vlogs; as mixed media; as artistic expression. I think the point is that they don't have "a topic;" the topic is YOU. And your life.

Maybe it's a subtle distinction... I've long been sort of an analyst and trend watcher, so I'm always looking at what people are doing; this appealed to me because it seems to sort of *humanize" Steemit a little bit more... and I like what Terry is (inadvertently?) doing, because telling stories "about our lives" also takes some of the focus away from the eternal "make money, make money, make money" that seems to have become so pervasive.

I just have been confused that they got rebranded as "ulogs" when the same thing has online been called "personal blog."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63822.89
ETH 3083.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99