Ulog No. 45: "#FreshFlavours: Glazed Non-Hoisin Chicken Fillets"

in #ulog6 years ago (edited)

First of all, I'd like to acknowledge @dragraff, because of his #freshflavours post last week, I was motivated to cook his recipe of Glazed Hoisin Chicken Drumsticks. It was easy to understand and follow. However, due to my husband's dietary requirement, I had to make minor adjustments.

In @dragraff's post NEW CONTEST 🥗🥘🍝 #FRESHFLAVOURS, he wanted his readers to guess what the secret ingredient was in his recipe. Whoever guessed it first would win an SBI share. @twodorks, @thethreehugs, @ychaa and I all guessed it was sesame seeds. I said,

No doubt the secret ingredient is the sesame seeds. But, @twodorks and @thethreehugs guessed it first. Good luck on your contest! I will try the recipe either tomorrow or Saturday. I have to go shopping for the ingredients first. Haha!

Anyway, it took me four days before I finally got to cook the recipe. I was not feeling well on Friday, then on Saturday I was still a little bit unwell but found enthusiasm to start cleaning the spare room. On Sunday, I couldn't cook because we had lunch at my mother-in-law's house (which is a regular thing) and for sure there were leftovers from lunch. Finally, on Monday, I decided to cook the recipe so that the veggies won't go to waste.

This is my version of @dragraff's recipe of Glazed Hoisin Chicken Drumsticks. I had to improvise because I wanted to utilise some of the vegetables I had in my fridge (such as carrots and cabbage), and also because my husband is severely allergic to sesame, which is one of the ingredients of Hoisin sauce.

GLAZED 'NON-HOISIN' CHICKEN FILLETS

Ingredients:
Ingredients:
1/2 kilo chicken thigh fillets
3 small carrots
2 bunches of baby pak choi
2 cups of cabbage
3 cloves of garlic
spring onions
3 tbsps soy sauce
sesame seeds
3 tbsps worcestershire sauce
2 tbsps white wine vinegar
2 tbsps honey
2 tbsps soy and honey sauce
salt and pepper
olive oil
jasmine rice

Preparation:

(1.) Preheat the oven to 200oC (fan bake).
(2.) Dice chicken fillets, place them in a baking dish, and then rub with oil, salt and pepper.
(3.) When the oven is ready, place the baking dish in the oven and bake for 20 minutes. After 20 minutes, remove the dish out of the oven and set aside.
(4.) Using a rice cooker, cook 4 cups of jasmine rice with 4 cups of water.
(5.) Cut carrots into thin slices.
(6.) Slice pak choi and cabbage into thin strips.
(7.) Crush garlic and cut them into tiny pieces.

Method:

1. Heat olive oil in medium heat. Sauté garlic until golden brown.

2. Add carrots and sauté for 1-2 minutes.

3. Add cabbage and sauté for 1-2 minutes.

4. Add the chicken fillets, honey, white vinegar, soy sauce, worcestershire sauce and soy and honey sauce. Mix them all in. Stir and simmer for 3 minutes.

5. Add the pak choi and spring onions. Cover and remove from heat.

6. Roast the sesame seeds in a separate pan until "it smells fine", then set aside.

[Since my husband is allergic to sesame, I didn't mix the roasted sesame seeds with the dish. I sprinkled sesame seeds on to my plate instead.]

Serve with rice, and enjoy your meal!!!

καλή όρεξη! Kali orexi! Bon Appétit!


(Served without sesame seeds.)

(Served with sesame seeds.)

rsz_transparent.png

I would like to acknowledge @surpassinggoogle for his #Ulogs initiative. Vote @steemgigs as your witness.
#Ulog means "You Log" or "You Blog".

Previous #ulog PostsOther Posts
Mushroom and Vegetables in Creamy Sauce - Perfect with SteakUlog 44: Cleaning the Spare Room
International Book Exchange: Scam or Real?There's no Mistake with my Steak
Deep BreathingThe Loch Eel and the Loch Ness Monster
Once It's Out, It's Out!What the Fork?!!!
My Definition of a Perfect RelationshipDoes Steemit have a Culture of Integrity?

rsz_transparent.png

My recommended witnesses:

@pharesim, @curie, @cloh76.witness, @jackmiller, @steemgigs, @yabapmatt, @quochuy, @reggaemuffin, @blocktrades, @qurator, @hr1, @aggroed, @utopian-io, @ocd-witness, @themarkymark, @arcange, @scottcbusiness, @yehey, @steemitboard, @ausbitbank.

You can vote up to 30 witnesses by clicking this link:

https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Click each banner to join the Discord servers!!!

rsz_11rsz_steembulls.jpg

SteemBulls by @pkalra, @bunnychum & @honeychum
dynamicsteemiansGIF.gif
@dynamicgreentk & @dynamicrypto

All photos are my own, except for the Discord banners (provided by @baa.steemit and @steembulls), #ulogger GIF by @phantum04 and footer image by @bearone of @teamaustralia.

evlachsblogta.png

Sort:  

You might not have green thumbs but you seemed to be good cook!

Slurp, makes me hungry again hahaha

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha! Thank you... but I'm just an average cook. You know what they say, "You can't have everything in life."

You’re too humble 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @evlachsblog, I'm @checky ! While checking the mentions made in this post I noticed that @dragaff doesn't exist on Steem. Did you mean to write @dragraff ?

If you found this comment useful, consider upvoting it to help keep this bot running. You can see a list of all available commands by replying with !help.

Thanks @checky, I edited my post to correct the spelling. I'm glad there's a bot like you. :-)

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Looks delicious!

Congrats for making this awesome post!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you. And yes, it was delicious! My husband loved it. I told him to put salt on to his food, he said, "No need. It's already tasty and delicious."

I’m so jealous it looks so good! Nicely done ✅ you actually did it! Well let’s just hope I win that Sbi from @dragraff 😅 hahahaha because I’m so hungry with this post!!! Goodness I might do it too! Lol

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you, @twodorks. You should try it. :-) Why buy from the Asian fast food/restaurant for a meal like this when you can make this in your own kitchen.

I'm not a good cook hehehe but we'll see hahaha I'll tag you if ever i do it :p

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks. Tag me whenever, I would love to see your post. :-)

I sure hope you will do it @twodorks! 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

That looks so yummy, sis!!! 😛 made me hungry..

It was delish!!!! You should try my recipe. It's quite easy to prepare and cook. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95