You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ULOG: 16 Got my chess game going again!

in #ulog6 years ago

You get points just for linking to James Brown!

It's been a long time since I've played chess, but probably a little less than four decades, since I know I've played against one or both of the boys in at least the last 15 years. Possibly the last 10. I think unless you're in high school or for some reason play it in college, it's not one of those things that regularly comes up. Friends or family members would need to want to play it, and there's just so many other games, particularly of chance, that doesn't require as much skill so they somehow even out the odds of winning.

I'm glad you're having fun playing the game, though.

I'm not sure if you're having fun watching the water tower measurement going up and down or not. Are you the only employee of this water plant, or is the other guy gone? I would think at some point your employer would prefer not to pay you overtime.

Checks should be good. Doesn't leave so much time, though. I've done and sometimes still do fifteen hour days. I can walk away if I want to. I just don't want to. :)

Sort:  

It's been too long of a day to remember which ones, but you see chess being played in some of the older shows and movies. I'm thinking of some of the old western shows... My 10 year old grandson has learned to play, so that will be fun teaching him some moves and strategies...

The boss worked 12 hour days this weekend.
I hit him up about going to 10 hour days this morning and he didn't really jump at the idea.
There's him and one other guy that can run the plant.
Another guy has passed his test, but the boss has never got him up here to get trained. A couple days training, he could get in the rotation.
::shrug::
My pickup needs ball joints, so the OT check is welcome.
And you know... the wife... probably needs a purse or shoes or something. haha
And Uncle Sam, well how's he gonna pay for all those BS wars we are always in if someone doesn't work some OT so he can take big chunks from those checks? ::shrug::

Back in '95 when I first started webmastering, I would work 24 hours, sleep 8-12 hours, get up and do it again and again and again. But I'm 20 some years older now and it is a bit tougher! haha

I've never made it to working 24 hours straight, thankfully. The closest I spent to staying up for a 24 hour period was 32-33 years ago the year I went to college. I had a new roommate that introduced me to Dungeons and Dragons and we spent one night playing until something like 5 am. Not a particularly proud moment of my life, and while I think I had fun, I never played the game again. :)

Now, I can manage 12-14 hour days in front of the computer, but any major amount of labor, no way. Slim down, get into shape, I'm still behind the age curve—just to slim down and get into shape, let alone do something afterward.

Excuses, excuses, but fortunately, I'm not looking at hours of menial labor digging ditches or chucking 100 lbs. bales like I did for a few days one summer. I actually remember those days fondly. :)

Seems like there's always something to spend the money on. Life has a way of ensuring that somehow.

Overtime is great for the check, no doubt about it. And yeah, the government manages to get more than I care to give it. At any rate, it would still be nice at some point that the untrained guy get some experience so the rest of you don't need to be working the long hours.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 65137.70
ETH 3198.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87