You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: #Ulog: artgirl 05-08-18, Pls remove the upvote function for Steemit newbies if our upvote is dust.

in #ulog6 years ago

There was an article written about vote values of less than 2 cents not all that long ago and basically the premise is that it is the CUMULATIVE vote that must be over 2 cents to make it worth something. So let's look at your example and assume that the 3 votes shown, together were less than 2 cents. Then it would show up as zero pay-out.

However, if the other 2 votes were also worth 2 cents each, then with the addition of your 2 cents, the pay-out would be worth 6 cents and at a 50/50 split, the author would receive 0.03 SBD and a small amount of SP.

In other words, your little vote is not worthless unless the total votes are less than 2 cents. So keep voting because you never know if a bigger fish will vote after you do.

Sort:  

Thanks. Yeah but it is worthless on it's own. And not everyone votes on other people's small posts. So anyway I'm just not feeling it here anymore as much as I used to.

Then you will likely migrate to ONO when it opens to world? It should open in a few weeks.

Not sure what that is?

It is an alternative to steem.

Sounds just like Steemit...

Many differances: No pre-mine, so no whales. Each vote is worth the same, so $ doesn't mean power. Equitable distribution. Democratic control rather than dictatorial.

Hmmm that's good to know then.

timcliff gave me a link to submit proposals on github I think. No enlightenment from them, straight out file a report/complaint/proposal. Well now, summady needs to stop me or else I will propose to remove the upvote function of red fish/minnows.

Oh wait, maybe I'm doing it wrong. I should propose them to ADD value to red fish/minnows 0 to 0.02 upvotes instead of it being dust votes. Hmmmm. Hmmm... Or why don't I just completely forget tf abt this and just be happy with my precious SBDs.

So much for caring huh. This is why I said I need a break around here.

I was quite vocal about a lot of things around here for a while. As I learned more, I discovered that it was all futile. Just earn what you can and be nice to everyone. Creating waves doesn't pay off. Nothing will change anyway.

Did you submit to the proposal thingy too? Did they reject it?

I did not make an official proposal, but ideas were discussed by several prominent people. The attitude of witnesses (those who actually control this site) are such that they like how it is now.

Well he told me to submit one and I'm not sure if it's even worth it. I'm only probably going to get a few upvotes anyway. Pffft.

If they like how it is now then why the heck do they ask our opinion? Ugh. Why implement it without even announcing it? Ok am gonna stop now or I'm going to rant again.

LOL... Do whatever you feel is right for you. Personally, I think you would be wasting your time and effort; that's why I'm taking the time to tell you all this.

Yeah I guess so. It's like they don't even bother answering my question at all but just gave me the link.

Maybe they're busy but who knows... They were able to reply with the link so I was hoping they could have given some insight instead.

Insight is something you need to extract like pulling teeth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62989.29
ETH 3048.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99