You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The things your parents wouldn't keep you from doing.

in #ulog6 years ago

Interesting post, TC! Like yourself, I pretty much had free reign over pursuing my interests.

In contrast, however, there are certain things that in retrospect - I wish my parents encouraged me to pursue vs. just letting me do as I pleased.

It's always a difficult line to draw - and there is no simple right or wrong... It's just fate, destiny, and the luck of the cards...

At the end of the day, all we can hope for is that everything turns out for the best!

Sort:  

It's hard for me to say, 25-30 years later, how much I was pushed vs. encouraged vs. let run in terms of things that I actually did. I was let run a lot, but I also think I was pushed into some things, and how much of that was my parents vs. other people I'm not sure. So much of that time is tied up in crazy educational history, and undiagnosed disability, and just the level of self-awareness of a really messed-up teenager. It's hard to reconstruct.

I have no memory, for instance, of why I spent a year playing the cornet when I was 10/11. I know it happened, and it had something to do with a new school that had sixth-grade band, but why the cornet? Why was I in band at all? Why, especially, did anyone think it was a good idea for an obsessive ten-year-old to practice the cornet on the balcony of an apartment building?

That's just lost, and there are a lot of things like that.

Ha-haaaa... That's too funny, man - and so true... It just is what it is - and was what it was... To try and make rhyme or reason of it after the fact is like trying to solve the JFK assassination, determine if the Moon landing was real, or getting to the bottom of 911 or something similarly impossible... :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68964.81
ETH 3733.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65