The things your parents wouldn't keep you from doing.

in #ulog6 years ago

Sometimes it seems like everyone has a story of the things their parents wouldn't let them do as a child, the ones that were formative experiences that led them to where they are today. Maybe they made you play the piano, or prevented you from playing the piano, or kept you from football or ceramics or whatever, for reasons that I'm sure seemed good to them at the time but had an outsized impact on your life.

I don't have any of those stories because my parents weren't like that at all. If I was interested in something they pretty much moved heaven and earth to make it happen. Or rather, if I was interested in something and actually told them about it.

That's really what I'm interested in today: what was the thing you wanted to do as a kid, and probably could have done, except that you never expressed it?

Vibraphone.jpg
Photo by Kelly Martin, CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons.

For me, one of the key things is mallet percussion. I adored xylophones, vibraphones, and glockenspiels as a kid, and played them every chance I could get, but that was always in school. I got pretty good at them, for a fourth-grader. Mostly vibraphones; I like the extra rebound from the metal keys, it makes the rhythm work better for me.

But then I stopped. It turns out there aren't vibraphones sitting around everywhere for you to play with when you're a teenager and an adult, and for whatever reason I never had the thought that this was something I could get one of for myself and pursue seriously. I don't know that I encountered a professional mallet percussionist until my late teens, so they may have just stuck in my head as toys that were like all of the other toys. There's kind of a spectrum of seriousness among elementary-school percussion instruments, and vibraphones are pretty much the top; if I was thinking of them in the same category as maracas and the fish-shaped güiro it's no surprise I never thought of them as a serious path. (I know there are professional percussionists who use those, but not as a primary instrument.)

As an adult, I suspect my parents are reading about this for the first time right now. There were times when I was a teenager where I'm pretty sure they would have bought me eight concert xylophones if it meant there was a nonzero chance I wouldn't spend the rest of my life living in their basement. That ended up working out in its own way, fortunately for everyone.

I've never gotten back to playing, though I've still had an affinity for other mallet percussionists' work. I've picked up several other instruments as an adult, and thought about going that direction, but for whatever reason never got there.

This isn't a post to announce that's changing, at least immediately, but as I'm spending more time and energy on music the desire is growing. If my cash flow ends up in decent shape this may end up being a winter project.

But I'd like to know about you. Was there something you wanted to do as a kid that you missed out on, not because of opposition, but because you never told anyone? Have you been able to find it again as an adult? If not, do you want to?

And on a second level, for the parents out there: do you have techniques for getting a handle on what your kids might miss out on for this reason? I don't have children of my own but my godson is pretty much a miniature version of me, so I'd like to know.

Sort:  

My mother always encouraged me to do anything I liked, even if it was a spur of the moment sort of thing: I did dancing, book club, acting, modeling, singing lessons, choir, guitar lessons, painting lessons... most art related activities but also some sports, and I really appreciate that she let me go and try all the things I was interested in, even when that lasted 5 minutes.

However I wish she would have also encouraged me to persist in them. She tells me she never wanted to pressure me into doing anything I didn't like, which is fair. If I wanted to quit on some activity because I didn't like it anymore or because I thought it was too hard to manage, she would insist once: "you need to be able to finish what you start." But then I would insist louder and she would let me quit hahaha.

I guess there is one thing I often regret quitting and I wish she had pushed me to continue: my music lessons at the conservatoire. I think my life as a musician (and in general) would be completely different if I hadn't quit, if I hadn't felt the pressure was too much or that I just wasn't cut out to that kind of education. I still feel like that sometimes, but I appreciate my own process in the music path, however bumpy and unexperienced as it has been. Not engaging in a strict and formal musical education allowed me to experiment in other types of artistic expressions which have helped me shape the person I am today. So, I am still grateful.

This may be why we've both ended up trying to do everything at once.

My favorite poker writer talks a lot about the advantages of being an expert quitter. I've quit a lot of things for a lot of reasons, and I think in general that has benefited me by improving my quitting skills. I've been able to get out of a lot of things that I wasn't getting much out of that other people would probably have stuck with.

This may be why we've both ended up trying to do everything at once.

SO MUCH TRUTH RIGHT THERE

In my case it takes me quite some time to quit something I'm not benefiting of, I have a whole letting-others-down issue I still got a lot to work on haha but in general I do agree. I feel like I should boast more often about my excellent quitting skills haha

Interesting post, TC! Like yourself, I pretty much had free reign over pursuing my interests.

In contrast, however, there are certain things that in retrospect - I wish my parents encouraged me to pursue vs. just letting me do as I pleased.

It's always a difficult line to draw - and there is no simple right or wrong... It's just fate, destiny, and the luck of the cards...

At the end of the day, all we can hope for is that everything turns out for the best!

It's hard for me to say, 25-30 years later, how much I was pushed vs. encouraged vs. let run in terms of things that I actually did. I was let run a lot, but I also think I was pushed into some things, and how much of that was my parents vs. other people I'm not sure. So much of that time is tied up in crazy educational history, and undiagnosed disability, and just the level of self-awareness of a really messed-up teenager. It's hard to reconstruct.

I have no memory, for instance, of why I spent a year playing the cornet when I was 10/11. I know it happened, and it had something to do with a new school that had sixth-grade band, but why the cornet? Why was I in band at all? Why, especially, did anyone think it was a good idea for an obsessive ten-year-old to practice the cornet on the balcony of an apartment building?

That's just lost, and there are a lot of things like that.

Ha-haaaa... That's too funny, man - and so true... It just is what it is - and was what it was... To try and make rhyme or reason of it after the fact is like trying to solve the JFK assassination, determine if the Moon landing was real, or getting to the bottom of 911 or something similarly impossible... :-)

My parents are like yours, except when it comes down to like... video games and stuff. Other than that, they were always very supportive of what I expressed curiosity about. I had a smattering of stuffs I got to learn :D I did ballet for a bit, and learned piano, and they bought me heaps of books on stuff that I told them I was interested in... which were great fun cuz I loved reading. And of course, I drew :D

If there were stuff I had missed out on, I think it was sporty stuff, cuz I'm kinda an introvert in real and did not do well in competitive or team environment.... but i guess it's not really 'missing out' since those things were things that were daunting (for me) and i actively shy away from them by nature.

I do wish I had braved the stuff I was intimidated by a little bit more, I guess... since now I kinda sorta want to learn snow boarding.... XD

I think it's nice that you ask these kinds of questions... and make these kinds of posts :> Feel like I am getting to know you and others, also <3

Looking forward to seeing more musical posts from you in the future, TC~

That's why tennis was my thing. You only need one other person and they stand way over on the other side.

:thinking emoji:

you're on to something here!!

My parents had never denied a thing, except the bad thing, but a thing that i always want to do is climb a hill a jump hahaha of course is dangerous but i always wanted to fly.

Hang gliding is a thing people do. It might satisfy that urge.

For me, there wasn't anything that I felt as a kid. I was pretty much addicted to video games though. Reflecting later, there were some hobbies I felt maybe it would have been nice if I pursued it earlier. Like chess, go, and ping pong. Though I'm not sure, I'm not actively pursuing any of those now, I just think they are fun to play if I happen to be playing them. Hum. And now here we are.

Mine! My parents wouldnt let me go out and play football or hang around with my peers. This made me stay indoor most often and cultivated the habit of reading .

But reading is never enough! One needs to go out and have fun!!

Very good post, We need more like you who motivate others to follow those arrested dreams and make them reality

You got a 32.53% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tcpolymath!

So cool, just saw on the @steemmonsters market that you also have one of those:

Welcome to Steem Monsters!.png

Good luck with the sale!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62