You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Good Managers...

in #ulog5 years ago

Hey Linny,

On loosing your boss: Good bosses are indeed a rarity and when they leave, for whatever reason, they leave a hole that can hardly be filled by another person. Life goes on as you write and I'm sure your new boss will also have qualities that you soon will appreciate very much.

On Forgetfulness: It started with me also with approx. 40 that I became sometimes forgetful. I think that's quite normal. When I was 50 I noticed that I couldn't remember names so well, strangely enough I forgot only names of actors, singers and public persons. I don't know why. Now I am almost three decades older than you and sometimes the short-term memory plays a trick on me, which is soemtimes rather funny and has no real consequences yet.

I've read that sleep (as someone says in the comments too) is very important for our memory. Also the learning of new contents while moving, as running, jogging, cycling promotes our memory. The intense blood circulation during sports also ensures that our brain is supplied with more oxygen and is therefore more efficient. That's why I always have my headphones with me and listen to scientific podcasts on all kinds of topics. I can confirm that this works.

So, here in Europe it is after midnight, its bedtime for me! Reading you soon!

Sort:  

I know. My biggest problem is sleep. I will die earlier from the fact I’m regularly allergic to sleep. Lol.

I use my fitness time purely for music and daydreaming. I tried the docos, I get dissatisfied that my mind can’t wander. I also read, allowing the mind to wander, to relax and flush out the bad stuff is good for us. :)

Although I know how important sleep is, I have the same problem since about two years. People say you need less sleep when getting older, this is ok, but often I do feel not rested and I am tired during the day. There are nights I only sleep 3 or 4 hours.

I have found two interesting articles, I would like to share with you, which confirm both view-points, mind-wandering and learning/thinking while moving. Very interesting stuff.

https://io9.gizmodo.com/5933423/the-right-way-and-wrong-way-to-let-your-mind-wander

https://www.inc.com/jessica-stillman/the-science-of-why-you-do-your-best-thinking-while-walking.html

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61766.85
ETH 3081.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82