You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Unschooling Blog, Vol. 44 - How Will Your Child Socialize?

in #unschooling6 years ago

Great post @kafkanarchy84! Being a parent now of a home schooled child, I am beginning to understand a little better. Diversity is the key. In public schools, kids only relate to what they are told to learn, with same age peers only.

In the workplace I see it every day. New hires that show up out of public school graduation and look at someone in their 40s like they are from another planet. Learning from and interacting with all age groups helps develop a more prepared person.

Sort:  

Learning from and interacting with all age groups helps develop a more prepared person.

Definitely.

New hires that show up out of public school graduation and look at someone in their 40s like they are from another planet.

Haha. I've seen this look, too, with some of the high school/junior high students. And then I meet some of these homeschooled kids that are able to actually have a conversation and meet me on a human to human, mature level, and it blows my mind.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64009.76
ETH 3148.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91