You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: To Bot Or Not To Bot - That Is The Question We Have Talked About Ad Nauseam - Can We Move On Now?

in #upvote6 years ago

i think bot is a good option,it will help to grow faster because its already have a wider audience so its a goods option in my point of view :)

Sort:  

It depends on how the bot is being used. A machine that upvotes you is not an audience. An audience is a group of people. Groups are communities of real people gathered together for a reason. No bot can replicate that. There's only one way to get people to come together and that's to attract them with something they are interested in. A theme, an idea, a commonality.

If the only thing you're interested in is an upvote then it's not really a social media site, is it? It's not going to attract the mass of people out there who could care less about bots. They want to socialize on interesting sites. That's why we should be focusing on building communities and move on from talking about Steemit all of the time.

Steemit is interesting to people already on Steemit, but to reach more people we have to start talking about other things.

yeah you are absolutely right most important is building a genuine social community now i am against the bot and i'll work genuinely in this platform so thanks for correcting me :)

We use a bot for open mic too. I never asked anyone to create one, but @ausbitbank did so that the community could support each other.

The bot he created just follows my manually curated posts because I upvote so many entries that if I upvoted at 100% voting power my votes would be worth nothing, so it follows my votes and helps to boost them so that others earn more for entering. We don't sell upvotes, we give them away for free when someone enters. But I am still manually listening to and upvoting every valid entry.

It also made it possible for people to delegate Steem Power to the @openmic account which follows my upvotes from the @luzcypher account. People who delegated did not necessarily want to upvote every post I make, so the can just support openmic posts and entries this way. We didn't create to make money for ourselves, but to help others in the community. I don't even upvote myself anymore. I did when I first started but now I want to save my voting power to give to others.

It's not that bots are bad, it's just how you use them. In this case, the community came first and is the main focus. The bot is just a tool that helps us support each other, but not the topic of the community. We hardly ever talk about it because that is not what the community is about.

The community is about music and that is why we are part of it, not because of a bot. Most people don't even know it exists. And that's what we need to do to reach wider audiences to join Steemit. We need to quit talking about Steemit and start blogging about things that interest a wider audience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63571.79
ETH 3068.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97