You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [SteemGigs] Enhanced Search & Bug Fixes

in #utopian-io5 years ago

I've finally taken the dive and started learning Vue.js, so this is a great example for me (I could've sworn SteemGigs was forked from Busy and thus used React before). The UI looks so much better than before, which is to be expected of you, haha. Great stuff!

As for the code, let me try to give you some feedback:

  • I saw that you commit a mutation directly from the component (e.g. search-panel) in an asynchronous function. From what I've read mutations have to be synchronous, whereas actions don't, and so it's better to create an action in the store and dispatch that if something asynchronous needs to be done instead. You can read more about it here.
  • Some small inconsistencies like using var in some places, but that's me being nitpicky.

It's very obvious a lot of work went into this, and the quality of the code (as far as I can tell, being a Vue.js beginner) is great + there are a lot of comments making it more readable! Amazing work!


Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Chat with us on Discord.

[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Thanks for the review :)

Ulog is the busy fork, but Steem Gigs has had a couple of different front-ends so maybe in the past.

Yeah, it's getting better (I think the refine results need more work/I could make it better, but I guess most of the value is in its ability to refine), the person who created it originally used materialise (I'm not a fan haha) and it's a bit of a battle rewriting it all out, little steps at a time I guess.

I'll take a look, brutally honest, never used actions, so you're likely right there haha. Thank you :)

Ahh, I can see I snuck some vars in by accident, slowly phasing out doing that, getting better haha.

Awesome that you're learning it, have you got any projects planned? or thinking about using it instead of vanilla js in your existing ones?

Once again, thanks for the review :)

Awesome that you're learning it, have you got any projects planned? or thinking about using it instead of vanilla js in your existing ones?

I'm part of a group that creates post-match threads on /r/LeagueOfLegends, and our current tool isn't great. I think someone made it with PHP years ago, and it uses a Google sheet as the database, which is starting to become a pain. Because of this I decided to remake and improve it while learning Vue.js. Other than that, I do have a couple of projects planned, but I will see how this first one goes, haha.

Thank you for your review, @amosbastian! Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57019.68
ETH 2888.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61