You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hitchhiker's Guide to Substratum Node on Raspberry Pi

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Interesting to see a project that uses SBC and Rust here. Long ago, I have done some image processing project using Raspi, Cubieboard, and Odroid. When I'm still naive, I compile OpenCV in Raspi (first model) and it take 1 day full 😂. Since I'm curious about what you have done, allow me to ask some question 🙂

  • How long it takes to compile Substratum Node?
  • Is there any specific reason why you choose ArchLinux instead of others (e.g Ubuntu Core or Raspbian)? What I know ArchLinux has widest support range for many arm architecture. Curious about your though other than that 🙂

Since now I have some spare time then play around little bit with Rust 😅, maybe you want to:

  • update and switch to the nightly channel (rustup default nightly) since there is a fix for '+fp'....
  • cross compile it in your laptop/PC (see this article for more info).
Sort:  

Glad you like it and appreciate your suggestion!
Yes, Pi, Arch and Rust are awesome!

  1. I did not time the compilation. Likely half to one hour. Not bad.
  2. Arch was chosen based on following reasons: It has a mature 64bit support, so Node can be natively compiled. I suppose CPU is more efficient and Node can run on 64bit. It makes use of the full potential of a $35 board. It has a wider range of packages (except some proprietary ones). Highly customizable, for example, the 53 port problem can be solved with a command. Lighter weight, unnecessary packages are not installed by default. Arch is probably the best choice to dive deep into Linux.
  3. I tried Rust nightly channel. It’s not stable. It produces different result every night. 😂 Sometimes it passes, sometimes not. The stable version caused the +fp warning, so I switched to an earlier version. The stable version actually compiled a working Node, so I suppose +fb is not a big issue.
  4. Cross compilation works. I’ve done it a week ago, but haven’t included in my guide. The guide was aimed to raise interest of Pi, Arch, Rust and Sub. Cross compilation is not suitable in the initial introductory guide. People were eager to know how well Node is supported on Pi, and I proved that it can already be compiled natively and run on Pi 3B. I will include cross compilation in my next guide about Pi Zero. YES, Node runs on the $5 Pi Zero W.
    Cheers!

Nice! Although currently I only have NanoPi Air in my inventory 😉

Wow, didn't know this thing before. Tiny and powerful! Hope it's also $5 😅

Hey @drsensor
Here's a tip for your valuable feedback! @Utopian-io loves and incentivises informative comments.

Contributing on Utopian
Learn how to contribute on our website.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98