You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Browser Extension: Filter By Tags On Steemit Blogs With SteemFeed

in #utopian-io6 years ago

Hi, thank you for sharing this extension. It looks that it will find its users as finding particular posts among a larger number of posts is sometimes difficult.

I have a question, though. Why do you take only the first 2 tags? Most people use all 5 (depends on the app) tags and personally, I don't think that anybody writes the tags in any particular order.

Another point from my side would be to see a short demo. You were able to describe it all in the text and give a sneak peak with the image but as a potential user, I would be interested to see it live what it does. :) This is also related to no visual assets in the extension stores just yet.

Your contribution has been evaluated according to Utopian policies and guidelines, as well as a predefined set of questions pertaining to the category.

To view those questions and the relevant answers related to your post, click here.


Need help? Write a ticket on https://support.utopian.io/.
Chat with us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Sort:  

Hi @espoem, thanks for accepting this to utopian-io. Much appreciated. Regarding the tags, I initially had it as all five, but in my testing it seemed that using all five didn't give enough separation of posts. In the case of my blog, the tag "steem" featured highly, even though there was only very little that was primarily about steem. I'm not sure about others, but I use the most relevant tags first and then move to less relevant. I assume a lot of others do that too, as often the first tag will be necessary for inclusion in a competition or "community" etc. Also on ChainBB, which unfortunately has been pulled, the first tag identified the main focus of the post. In any case, using the first two seemed to give a good result on the blogs I tested (not many blogs). I'll see what feedback I get and can definitely change that in the future if needed.

Regarding a demo, that's a good idea, and I was thinking of how best to do that. Normally I'd upload something to my youtube channel, and then link that. But we've got dtube here, so I was thinking I should probably use that. Just at the moment, though, I have no idea how to use dtube... :) I'll look into it and maybe add a demo in a future post, or if soon enough I'll edit one into this post.

Finally, I want say how excellent the utopian-io instructions/protocols and feedback are. This is my first open source project, and my first use of utopian, and it has been an easy (and rewarding, looking at the utopian vote above.. ;) ) experience. Cheers!

Right, using all five tags might not be that useful. Nevertheless, many apps reserve the first (or even second) tag for their own purposes and to distinguish the post from other apps and platforms. In such cases, the tag may not bring any relevancy as it only shows for which app it was submitted and not directly relevant to the content within.

For the demo, I would say that an optimized and short gif image is the best option. Steem apps don't often support iframes and embedded video players. In Steemit and Busy, you can embed YouTube and Vimeo videos but not others. You can only use the link to the video in other cases. But that may work as well.

Good point about the platform tags. I'll extend it out to three today and update the app and code.

Regarding the demo, yeah I had the idea last night of going the animated gif route. I'll try and put one of them together today and edit it in. Cheers, mate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57824.15
ETH 2965.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70