[Steemia] - Logo design - j3dy v1.1c

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

thumb

Details

Created a cool Logo for Steemia a new mobile app for the steem blockchain. You can read more about the project on their blog: https://busy.org/@steemia-io

This app will provide the users an enriched user experience plus features commonly encountered in a casually used social media. The goal of this project is to give the community a mobile app where they can do their daily activity in the blockchain.

https://utopian.io/utopian-io/@steemia-io/steemia-logo-design-request

Updated and 2k again :) This is version 1.1c and I'm overhauling the whole post so I hope the moderators take note.



Icon Request

ExportV1.1c.png



Horizontal Typeface font is [Roboto] noted below

Vertical Typeface

Black White and Outlined Versions



Size Variations and mockup icons for different use cases

Launcher Icon

V1.1c 48.png
48x48 px V1.1c 72.png72x72 px V1.1c 96.png96x96 px

V1.1c 144.png144x144 px V1.1c 192.png192x192 px

V1.1c 512.png512x512 px

Action Bar Dialog And Tab Icon

V1.1c 24.png24x24 px V1.1c 36.png36x36 px V1.1c 48.png48x48 px V1.1c 72.png72x72 px V1.1c 96.png96x96 px

Small Contextual Icon

V1.1c 16.png16x16 px V1.1c 24.png24x24 px V1.1c 33.png32x32 px V1.1c 48.png48x48 px V1.1c 64.png 64x64 px

Notifications Icon

V1.1c 22.png22x22 px V1.1c 33.png33x33 px V1.1c 66.png66x66 px V1.1c 88.png88x88 px



Benefits / Improvements

First up the logo uses known forms like the trending line on the screenshot in the main task, it's also representing the distributed nature of the steem network, as well as the social aspect of it :)

I have since updated the logo to be symmetrical based on the comments from the Task Holder and the colors have been changed to contrast the smaller versions better, I do believe it's looking better and better and I hope the hours spent show the quality I've tried to achieve.

The logo should scale both up and down and be easily recognizable

Looking forward to your comments @hsynterkr @jayser @jayserm
and good luck to the steemia Team

Tools

Cinema 4D, Illustrator, Photoshop

It's a long story but I will try and keep it short,

  • Step1: Get the idea in your head and grow it until you are happy with the concept
  • Step2: Get the vector shapes: Outline or just connect the dots, Vectorise the main elements
  • Step3: In my case it's export and setup in Illustrator, produce color variations and setup the scene for export
  • Step4: Produce the mockups and general bells and whistles (I'm still not great with effects and gradients so I lack that final polish)
  • Step5: Add to the repository/disk/server and Write up the post
  • Step6: Do updates based on the feedback received

!!Feedback is one of the most important steps in the process !!

  • Step7: :) Update the post and refine the whole spectrum :) Hope for the best :)


I don't see the point in spamming screenshots but I can stream videos for you next time :)

1



Aditional Mock Ups

Busy

Steemit



Colours

Main colors:

Light Blue
R=33 G=150 B=243

Dark Blue
R=13 G=71 B=161

Red
R=244 G=67 B=54

Variation Colors
R=51 G=51 B=153 / R=51 G=153 B=204

Swatch.ai Included in the V1.1c repository

Original files

Current V1.1c
Download files Here

Obsolete V1
Download files Here

Download Roboto font Here

Cheers, @j3dy





Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

Sort:  

Много яко лого, оправи си го, за да го приемат! Добро е!

Hello @j3dy,

Thanks for your contribution. I do appreciate all the work done in your contribution but however, after analyzing your work, I am afraid to say that your contribution does not meet the Utopian standard quality. For instance, the symmetry of the design is not even nor proportional. Look at the example below:

Screen Shot 2018-02-11 at 8.43.42 PM.png

Screen Shot 2018-02-11 at 8.44.14 PM.png

In addition, the logo does not scale well. For instance, in small sizes, the logo is not recognizable:

Screen Shot 2018-02-11 at 8.41.11 PM.png

I wish I can accept this contribution but however, I cannot go above Utopian rules. You did follow the task request rules but not the Utopian rules.

I hope you understand the situation and accept the feedback.

Thanks once again for your contribution :)

i did make everything by hand so I haven't used symmetries but that's an easy fix.

I received the same reason for rejection the last time I contributed,

For instance, in small sizes, the logo is not recognizable:

I would beg to differ since I clearly recognise it and I've just seen it once, the general nature of distributed systems also isn't really symmetrical, as in here for instance, my contributions always seem to be lacking in some aspect while they are acceptable to many, 70% of mods don't seem to think so.

So yeah I've done everything by hand so it's normal that there are mistakes and asymmetry. Those little edge connections were cut to outline the circles, but I suppose when I was rushing to make the vectors and the color variations it they quickly became squares.

So yeah how do you make a 2k logo that scales down to 16pixels ....

and with 3 seconds I scaled the vectors up and there are no more mistakes, that it doesn't scale well I'm not sure how to fix other than making everything bigger. Also here is the Symmetric version hah that took a good one hour to make :|

Asset 116.pngAsset 122.png
Asset 1512.png

I always accept feedback and generally am quite off put when there isn't any.

Thank you for the review! I have 2-3 more ideas about this project that I would like to share so I would like to get this one cleared off, not that it matters with different mods having different preferences, still I'd like to make 2k logos scale down to 16 pixels and not be a one liner :D

Cheers!

Hello @j3dy,

I've seen that you already fixed the logo. Regarding the size of the logo, a logo should be readable at small sizes (for instance, in an icon). This logo in a mdpi size (48x48) will not be recognizable. Why does it happens? It is because the complexity of the logo. A logo should be simple and memorable. In your case, you did include so many things in the logo making it complex.

Since you've received the same reason the last time, it means that you may need to change the way of thinking about a logo. Everyone has their own style but however, a logo does has guidelines.

Regarding your contribution, it is up to the moderator to decide whether yours does qualify for the Utopian reward.

Thanks :)

Loading...

Updated the whole post and added the new files, plus I'd like to get your final words on this, since I did double the hours put into this. I hope you saw the other comment below with the new smaller icons, I'd like to know if it's acceptable based on your standards.

This looks smart as fuck, mate. Great job.

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Hey @j3dy I am @utopian-io. I have just upvoted you!

Achievements

  • Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!

Community-Driven Witness!

I am the first and only Steem Community-Driven Witness. Participate on Discord. Lets GROW TOGETHER!

mooncryption-utopian-witness-gif

Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one. Want to chat? Join me on Discord https://discord.gg/Pc8HG9x

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61626.58
ETH 2940.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66