Utopian.io: Official Landingpage (Contributor Report #6)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #utopian-io6 years ago (edited)

cover2.png

TL;DR

You might have noticed that @elear's project Utopian.io is picking up pace very quickly and he is calling for developers to join him now. I am not very familiar with React.js, so it will take some more time for me to become an active core developer of the main project. But in the meanwhile I can contribute simpler but nonetheless important things.

A few days ago @auliausu came up with this awesome design for a landingpage for Utopian.io. I can tell you he was quite surprised about all the positive feedback but that's what happens if you're good at something. Keep up the great work buddy! ;)

I immediately contacted @elear and told him that I would like to be the person who turns this design into a working website. He even wanted to pay me for doing it but... my friend... don't you get the point of your own project? The blockchain pays us! :D Just kidding... I won't stop you from anything but this is still a voluntary open source contribution.

You know... I really REALLY like Utopian and the idea of rewarding open source contributions. That's the way I want to work for the rest of my life. I can decide for myself what I want to do and when I want to do it and if I consider my contribution worthy enough to receive some rewards, I can make a post about it.

So, it is in my very best interest to support this project as good as I can. That's why I really put some love into this and tried my best to give this website a nice and professional look and feel, with some smooth animations here and there.

I made a few little adjustments to the layout, added more sections, made it responsive, wrote some texts and so on. Here's the result:

Utopian.io Landingpage
GitHub Repository

This is not the final product but most of the work is done. However, some issues still remain. Oh and... please don't be disappointed when you click on the video icon on the screen at the top. There is no video yet!

Issues

I opened some issues on GitHub for those who want to help finishing this website.

At this point I would like to thank @netuoso for the first PR, making the contributor rewards dynamically pulled from the Utopian API. Maybe you can do the same for the moderator rewards.

And of course everyone is invited to test the website on all kinds of devices or check the texts for typos and so on.

Technical details

For open source projects like this I like to use Bootstrap to make it accessible for many developers. There's no predefined template involved.

For the animations I used Gsap by Greensock and wow... what an awesome library. Why the hell haven't I heard of it before? They've been around for over a decade. It makes animations so easy once you get a hang of it. I mean... really EASY!

This animation you see on the landingpage is run by only four lines of code:

let upvotesTimeline = new TimelineMax({repeat: -1});
upvotesTimeline
    .staggerFrom('.upvote', .5, {scale: 0, opacity: 0, ease: Back.easeOut.config(4)}, 1)
    .staggerTo('.upvote', 2, {bottom: "+=25", opacity: 0, ease: Power1.easeInOut}, 1, '-=5');

Together with ScrollMagic it's very easy to control when your animations should start. Here's the code for the animated octocat:

let scrollController = new ScrollMagic.Controller();
let octocatTween = new TweenMax.from('#octocat', 1, {scale: 0, opacity: 0, ease: Back.easeInOut});
let octocatScene = new ScrollMagic.Scene({triggerElement: '#github-trigger', offset: -300})
    .setTween(octocatTween)
    .addTo(scrollController);

If you want to get started with GSAP, check out this video.

That's it.

I really hope you like the landingpage and even more I hope that many people will make many helpful contributions... not only to the landingpage of course but to the whole Utopian project.

In the long run this could give so much freedom to so many developers and other contributors around the world. This project has to become BIG and I'm sure it will! :)

Thank you @elear!


DQmNv1zxujkKXH4LvDbDCzqQamLHesp1PpocBwPTpMHPdzf_1680x8400.png

@mkt
Interests:
Technology/Science/Future
Nature/Environment/Sustainability
Creativity/Programming


Check this out:
Steemit On Your Website


Open Source Contribution posted via Utopian.io

Sort:  

Thank you for the contribution. It has been approved. This is really awesome work and the landing page is so beautiful.

You can contact us on Discord.
[utopian-moderator]

Thanks! I already joined you on discord. But I only talked to elear by now... will be more active there too I guess. :)

Damn! That design is sweet! It's soooooo cool, and i love the color scheme. Congratulations! Even though I am just a bot, I have been programmed with an acute sense of asthetics, and your design is approved.

Thanks! Credit goes to @auliausu! ;)

Awesome! I'll head over there and help with the content side of things. I'm more into writing, though I am familiar with a little programming, so I'll be making pull requests concerning the site's content only. ☺

And I agree with you: Utopian is just awesome!

Great! Some texts are still missing. I wasn't creative enough to come up with my own in some cases. Feel free to submit PRs. But @elear is head of content I would say. ;)

All good ☺

Hey @mkt I am @utopian-io. I have just super-voted you at 82% Power!

Achievements

-I am a bot...I love developers... <3
-Good amount of information. Thank you!
-A very informative contribution. Good job!
-Votes on this contribution are going well. Nice!
-You are having more votes than average for this category. Nice!
-You are generating more rewards than average for this category. Super!
-Seems like you contribute quite often. AMAZING!
-You have just unlocked 7 achievements. Yeah!
Up-vote this comment to grow my power and help Open Source contributions like this one.

Thank you very much @mkt

http://www.steemgirls.info

Hm... your comment isn't really related to my post but... Thanks for using my widget plugin! ;)

which plugin is that?

https://mktcode.github.io/steemit-widgets

You can display feeds, profile information and crypto price tickers. The generator is the easiest way of using it.

I see it. Very useful plugin.I was searching for a bit different solution though.
I want to display the whole post on my blog, instead of going to steemit page and arrange it on my style. is it possible?

Yes. You can display a whole post as well.

I downvoted it because it is using two bots with high payouts. While this isn't wrong, it is still ranking up your post higher. Downvote to strike a balance.

Also, consider removing the steemdev tag.

I sent those two votes myself @littleboy with my own money as an additional reward for the work done by @mkt (that is indeed for free)

Downvote removed.

Thanks for clarifying this @elear. :)
But there was another point:

Also, consider removing the steemdev tag.

@littleboy would you say this tag is only for development directly related to the steem software itself? I always use it for development that is related to steem in general.

The steemdev tag is about steem development. You may use Utopiandev for your post.

The more I think about it...

I think it's fine and keep using the steemdev tag. Utopian uses steem, so it's steemdev.

who programmed you @littleboy?

Nice. Great job.

Great work guys, you've done an amazing job on this page!

Lookin good man.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95