Aloe Vera and dental benefits?

in #vegan5 years ago

I've been wanting to make this update for a while but it didn't happen until now for various reasons.
Anyways.. As some of you know I share a lot of the stuff I learn and I've in the past struggled with some dental stuff.
I thought maybe there was a connection to the vegan diet since there's a lot more sugar/carbs, and I've seen a lot of other vegans have serious dental issues.

Yet.. I also looked at the studies and it showed vegans often have better oral health and I also had my issues before I went vegan.
So I was pretty sure it wasn't the diet and I was just doing something wrong or missing something and I tried a lot of different things to try to find a solution.

Started with oil pulling with coconut oil which helped but wasn't enough, then tried swishing with greens with seemed like it helped but then I tried some stupid mouthwash shit around the same time which I think made it worse and didn't wanna try the greens anymore cause I was unsure.

I also tried tumeric which seemed somewhat decent, but didn't do it long enough I suppose. Then bentonite clay which probably helped the most out of all of those.
But it still wasn't enough.. I was still having issues. I got to a point where I was like deep in depression and didn't look at my mouth or smile for a while and when I finally did I was pretty disturbed to see some gum recession.
Like holes where my gums used to be where you could see through sorta, small but.. Still bothered me a lot.

I found some aloe vera my parents had gifted me and started using that, and also bought a Christopher's tooth powder which was suppose to be amazing and some miswak toothbrushes on Amazon and..
I haven't consistently used the Christopher's tooth powder or the miswaks so I can't speak on them.. I dunno why.. I just.. Tend to swish with aloe vera cause it's easy and it seems to be working already.
I found some studies supporting this that are peer reviewed, showing aloe vera is better than traditional toothpaste.

So far.. It's been so helpful. I wish I discovered it sooner! Ugh.
I forget when I started but I'm pretty sure it's been over a month now maybe getting closer to two months and my gum recession has no almost 100% healed up. I'd say like.. 99%. I can smile again like I used to and not be as self conscious.
And what's almost even more amazing is.. My tooth sensitivity to cold stuff and sugars is way improved!

Even since I was a young kid.. Cold drinks or foods or really sugary stuff would hurt my teeth, now.. That is mostly gone.. There's still a lil.. It's not 100% gone.. But wow.. I'm just amazed by the difference.

Also I think it has made my teeth a little bit whiter as well.
If anyone out there is having oral issues whether vegan or non vegan, I would suggest you do some research on aloe vera and look into it if you haven't yet. And if you have and it didn't work.. Maybe try a more pure source? The stuff I got is pretty high quality and I think the closer you can get to the raw plant gel itself the better it will work.

Hope that helps someone! It may not work for everyone I dunno, some people seem to react differently to things.. Though I can say it helped me a lot! And it might be worth a shot if you're having issues as aloe vera is pretty affordable and I'm not aware of any serious side effects like you might expect from pharmaceuticals or something like that.
Anywho.. That's it for me today, talk to you later!

PS I did one previous update on this but thought it was time for another as some time had passed.

Sort:  

Interesting to read about your dental problems. I have the same problems. When the gums are weak or receding, food get stuck in the pockets. And it is not very pleasant. I might give it the aloe vera a try. Thanks for sharing.

I think part of my problem was also I was brushing too hard, I brush a lot softer now, though it's clear the aloe has helped me a lot and much less sensitivity for sure! I hope it helps you if you try it! You're welcome for sharing by the way. Thanks finding some value. :)

Thanks for your reply. I think in my case, it is poor oral hygiene when young. And maybe to some extent, genetic. My brothers and sisters have dentures since young. Until I lay my hands on the aloe vera gel, I think I will swill with salt solution twice a day as recommended in one of the websites. See how it goes. :-)

By the way, thank you for resteeming my post. Much appreciated. Cheers!

Interesting. I didn't know that aloe vera was good for your teeth and gums. Sounds like it is working though if your gums have healed (or stopped receding). I think aloe would be cheaper than dental insurance as well so thats a plus
:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97