Vegan Biscoff Cheesecake!

in #vegan5 years ago

I'm so happy that i managed to crack this one! One of my favorite desserts as a non vegan was cheesecake, the unbaked, deliciously creamy kind and this one absolutely nails it. I gave it to my (non-vegan) partner who absolutely loved it too!

cheesecake edit.jpg

Lotus Biscoff Cheesecake!

What you will need:

(makes two small cheesecakes but you can double or triple the recipe as required)
100g of Vegan Soft Cheese
40g of Powdered/Icing Sugar
80g of Lotus Biscoff Spread
80g of Coconut Cream (just scoop out the thick part from the top of a can of coconut milk)
about 8 Lotus Biscoff Bicuits
50g of Vegan Margarine.

Start by making the cheesecake part and it is really simple. Just throw the soft cheese, powdered sugar, lotus biscoff spread and the coconut cream into a bowl and whisk it pretty hard for about a minute or two. It should be pretty soft but if you turn the bowl on it's side it shouldn't run out the bowl.

IMG_20190708_202910.jpg

It might seem a bit runny but don't worry it will set properly in the fridge.

Now for the setup

We can do this two ways - the easy way or the slightly harder way I'm going to show you the harder way, which also looks great but you can just follow the steps using a glass if its easier and layer it up in that.

Start by taking a metal ring or cutter and line the inside with non stick baking parchment

IMG_20190708_203049.jpg

Either using a food processor or a mortal and pestle crush up the lotus biscuits (you can also just mash them up with a rolling pin if you like) set aside about 1/4 of the biscuit crumb for later. Melt the Margarine and add slowly to the remaining mix, you might not need it all. Keep mixing the biscuits and melted margarine until they are well bound. When you press them they should stick together but you don't want the mix to be oily so go slow, bit at a time and make sure the margarine is well mixed in before adding more.

IMG_20190708_203454.jpg

Now press the biscuit mixture into the bottom of your metal ring and gently press it down....

IMG_20190708_203544 - Copy.jpg

Now add the cheesecake mix....

IMG_20190708_203719 - Copy.jpg

Finally, top with the left over biscoff crumb

IMG_20190708_203832 - Copy.jpg

Put your cheesecakes into the fridge to set for at least a couple of hours and they should go nice and firm. Remove from the rings and gently peel off the paper to serve. Top with a little spoon of the biscoff spread to finish.

cheesecake edit.jpg

I hope you will enjoy these as much as i did, the great thing about this recipe is that the powdered sugar, soft cheese and coconut solids mix will set on it's own so in the future i'm hoping to use it again for other vegan treats like carrot cake and banoffee Pie!

See you soon!!!

MH

banner-2.png

Sort:  

Look so delicious thank for sharing

Thanks. Try it sometime, it's really delicious.

Posted using Partiko Android

Cheesecake is one of my favorite deserts too @mealhound !
Being a vegan changed a lot of things in my life in a good way... But on the other hand I couldn't have lots of sweets and deserts...
I can't taste your cake on photos, but weirdly I can smell it! And it just makes me hungry...
I will give it a try in honor of my days drowning in confectionery industry!
Thanks for sharing
♥♥♥

That's exactly why I worked on this. I honestly believe that most things we miss from time to time as vegans can either be replicated or replaced with something equally delicious. Thanks for the comment.

Posted using Partiko Android

This truly looks my kind of desserts - feel free to ship a couple of these delicious looking bad boys over to me, I am really craving these right now yummy

I'll send it out today @michelnilles 😁 thanks for the comment!

Posted using Partiko Android

beautiful recipe! I'm not a vegan but I like to experiment, also because it often happens that friends are and you have to be prepared for the guests! beautiful presentation with your delicious photos that are very hungry !! congratulation .-))

Thanks! It would be so good for non vegans too. Thanks for the comment

Posted using Partiko Android

yes, I think we have a lot to enjoy, in different ways, and one way does not exclude the other! keep on :-))

Omg! I see this photo and only be starving to eat that delicious Cheesecake hahaha, I guess the flavor is from the other world ♡ Congratulations for your post

I'm so glad you like it! Thanks for your comments it is very much appreciated 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh boy... Now I am hungry. This looks so good.

Hands down the best vegan dessert I've ever made. So good and very versatile. You could swap the biscoff for peanut butter or chocolate spread I think and it would work nicely 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

BIscoff is a brand? Can you let me know, No issue even if not. I loved this post because it shows some light on how much process is behind making a cake. Usually when we goes to bakery and buy stuff like this we never realize that too much process are behind this.

Your step by step methods and photographs looks colorful. Appreciate your efforts in posting it here. Congrats for curie selection

Thanks for your comment. Biscoff is a kind of brand but you could swap it in this recipe for peanut butter I guess. I haven't tried that so if you do let me know how you get on.

Posted using Partiko Android

That looks delicious! I have never liked cheesecakes to be honest but the vegan version sounds appealing. And I love the lotus biscoff biscuits :)

Thank you for sharing your recipe! Have a lovely day!

Thanks. It's pretty close to a regular unbaked cheesecake though so possibly not for you? But try it nd let me know what you think 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @mealhound! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 50 posts. Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi mealhound,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thanks so much for the support! 💚

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98