You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Flaps Up on my Jet Plane

Interesting stuff, but I have to disagree and say that I am pretty sure the fuel is kept in the wings of the plane. I used to be a mechanic at East midlands airport and although I only worked on the ground equipment, I have seen these things in pieces. Also the guy I worked with was a complete geek and had worked there all his life. He used to tell me all about the different planes and why the design had never changed. The largest plane in regular use is the Antinov Airbus and these things are awesome to see. They can hold 500 tons of fuel in the wings, but rarely do. They plan flights meticulously and the fuel amounts are often a lot lower than the maximum capacity of the tanks. They do take a lot of time to fill these tanks and the pumps for them work at massive pressure(As in slice you hand off) the fuel comes out at such a rate that they can pump 1000's of gallons in a short enough time.
Hope this has helped. I am going to look into this a little more tonight as I would be interested to know what they think is really happening.
Now as for why they do not explode is just down to things like fire proofing and bombproof fuel tanks. There are also shut off regulators that work of pressure, so soon as a line explodes or just leaks, it then shut of that part of the system.

Sort:  

People are looking into that idea of high pressure fuel filling and it does not seem to be possible at the rate needed. And the weight and volume and not possible in such small wings. You can see in my photo, that at least half of the wing in used for technical equipment and there is even a big gap in it.

500 tons at a lot. It does not seem possible at that weight, but the number of gallons stated would give much more weight than that. Also the time stated would be much more that the time the planes are on the ground.

I cannot imagine such wonderful fireproofing would also be in the wings.

I would love to hear from you again after you look into this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62991.27
ETH 3180.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82