1949 Plymouth - back from the dead!

in #vehiclephotography6 years ago

Figured I'd do a quick writeup of the current project @msvee and I are working on, a 1949 Plymouth DeLuxe club coupe!
Here's what it looked like dragging it home from upstate NY:
plym2.jpg

It had no engine or transmission, the floors were completely rotted and gone, and the frame was a bit tweaked. But, it was the body style we wanted, and even came with the title, all for the bargain price of 500 bucks!
The first order of business was to yank the body off that nasty frame...
15781524_10208185243094244_6286547663432178956_n.jpg

While that was going on, I had been working on a different, more solid frame I was prepping for the body, complete with a host of upgrades I had done prior - Ford Explorer disc brakes, Chevy Cavalier power rack & pinion steering, Jeep Cherokee front sway bar, relocated bottom spring perches and upper shock mounts, and rear drop blocks. I also pulled the original flathead 6 and swapped in a 318 V8, 904 auto, and Dodge Diplomat cop car posi rear. Everything was then cleaned, stripped, and coated with KSB encapsulator...
008.JPG

The above pic also shows the subframe I fabricated for the new floors. As stated before, the floors were completely rotted away. Here's a pic of under the body as it hung from the rafters in my shop. And when I say the floors were gone, they were GONE...
008.JPG

I fabricated a recessed firewall to clear the V8 and transmission...
007.JPG

The transmission tunnel is done, and now I'm working on new floors...
006.JPG

With the nice, less-rusty front clip off a 1950 Plymouth parts car, this ol' heap is actually starting to look like something!
front.jpg

Still quite a lot to do, but hoping to have it up and going by April to drive from northeastern Pennsylvania to Las Vegas for the big Viva Las Vegas fest, and hang out with our old friend @kommienezuspadt for his book release, "Dark Pinup", published by @wcpublishing!
Better get back out in the shop!

GEARHEADS! Show me YOUR projects!

Sort:  

dude hell yeah. you gunna race that bad boy on street outlaws? hahaha maybe ill see ya there! me and my wife @tstarnes (she's the real gear head i just got dragged into it!!) are working on our "dodgestoration" project of our 1974 dodge charger! good to see someone else working on cars! following for sure to see your progress man and maybe ill have some pictures out soon of our charger!

Ha, it probably won't win too many races! The 318 is a pretty mild build with an Elgin RV cam, port-matched swirl heads, Edelbrock Streetmaster intake, and a Carter 625. If I need to get wild, I always have my '67 Barracuda!

oh man thats badass. i would kill for a cuda! and yeah my charger has a 318, sounds mean but we are looking to put something else in her so we can whip it around. and if i need to get wild, i have my 2004 jetta tdi! hahah :P

I also have my drag Beetle to play with!phonedump372016 039.jpg

hahaha dude that thing is sick. you watch street outlaws? little dung beetle! except yours is nice and shiny hahaha

Nice,wish i didn't have to sell my 60 Eldorado but life likes to throw curve balls from time to time.

dang man! yeah, we would all love to keep every car anyone has ever had. my dad restored a badass bronco when i was little but had to sell it because life happens also. i would of loved to drive that car around now

yeah, true always another car waiting for a 2nd chance at life

Very nice series!

Nice I like all those old body style my favorite one is the 1950 oldsmobile rocket 88

Now this is some classic ;) great work! I hope the project will come out mint!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65852.33
ETH 2958.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73