Would anyone like to help with a Venezuela fundraising post?

in #venezuela6 years ago (edited)

I am planning on doing a fundraiser post for two Venezuelan Steemit users. As you may know, Venezuela is a disaster zone with massive inflation and little food available.
https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/jan/21/venezuela-looting-violence-food-shortages
I will donate 20 Steem to buy them 20 shares of Steem Basic income (SBI) each, but I would like to give them many more. I will have five special comments below the post, called
Redfish
Minnow
Dolphin
Orca
Whale

Visitors will upvote their level's comment, and it is a friendly competition to see which level is the most generous. Since there are a lot more redfish than whales, each upvote would have a multiplier to make it more fair. For example, a redfish upvote is worth 1 point, and for the other four levels an upvote will be worth 100 points.

The idea is that the competition will raise more money to support these two, who will then be in an ideal situation to support other Venezuelans.

I was thinking of offering prizes to the winning level, but now I am moving away from that. I would appreciate any feedback or ideas. Also let me know if you could resteem the post or offer a support post directing people to it. Also I would like to offer a Spanish translation in the post as well. Let me know if you could help with that. Thanks!

Sort:  

Why not just list SP brackets, and then see what the total vote value in STU is for each bracket? There should be some sort of fun prize for the winner of the voting part to encourage voting. Also, Spanish translates fairly well with any of the common translation tools. I will help out however I can if these people have a good track record of being able to do what needs to get done with the payout.

Thank you @charitybot! I will take your advice and just make it pure STU. One whale could certainly vote big, but I guess that is the hope right? These two people have personal needs, but once those are met I believe they will support others. I will also use a translator online, good suggestion. For a prize maybe I could select 5 upvotes randomly from the winning level and offer them a custom profile picture, maybe in a fun cartoon format or something more traditional. If the whales win they certainly wouldn't need SBI shares or Steem. Maybe the pictures would appeal to everyone. What do you think?

I think that is a good idea actually, something unique would be quite appealing to some! Or maybe a random winner from every bracket? I have no clue.

Thanks, I'm checking with @luxx to see if he would like to do the portraits. He is super talented.

Wow luxx is really good.

@luxx is in, the post is live now. Thanks!
Hey everyone, I am doing a post to benefit @reinaldoverdu, just wondering if you guys could make some funny comments tagging in other people, rhyme, haikus, whatever. I would really appreciate it! https://steemit.com/charity/@giddyupngo/upvote-battle-for-venezuela-prizes-inside-batalla-de-votacion-por-venezuela-premios-dentro

@giddyupngo man you made me cry, i dont have word to express all that you are doing for me, and for sure i will be gratefull to you for the rest of my life. You are mading a great change. Hope all the persons help us. They are many people on need, without food or clothes - i actually just have 1 pair of broken shoes and 2 pairs of jean that are broken, i feel embarassed to say you this , but i have no choice, if i dont gel help soon, i dont know whats going on with my life or my future, sorry for being so blue, but thats my reality :(

I hear you Reinaldo, there is so much suffering in your Country. I hope this will help, and I am thankful to the many people who helped with the contest. May God bless you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97