Dust Storms In Iraq When I Was Deployed!

in #veterans6 years ago

This post is a response to @shadow3scalpel contest "Extreme Weather" I do not know if it is extreme to you all here but in Iraq and Kuwait they were. No air support during these storms but missions had to continue on the ground. It made it a little harder and more worrisome out there lots of times. When I was deployed to Iraq I had no idea what a duststorm really was. Then I went to the middle east! We got to Iraq in May 08 and it was hot and dry that day. The next morning was a different story in the distance you saw this tower of dust heading right for you and not knowing I asked what is that and they told me a duststorm is headed in. The season for duststorms in Iraq was April thru June and then again in September thru November, that is about when they happened the most if I remember correctly.

dust storms.jpg
Picture From Google Images

They towered about you for what seemed miles and the wind was blowing sometimes about 50 MPH. The sand in Iraq was like moon dust, that is what we called it, it was really fine sand and when it rained it would add it seemed like 50 pounds to your boots and the mud was like peanut butter. I hated the rainy season because that mud stuck to everything. Cleaning it up was a chore! That was really extreme. LOL After the wind died down and the dust hung in the air for a while it would make everything look like a red haze, for the lack of a better way to put it. That was the sun trying to shine through it.

images (480 x 360).jpg
Picture From Google Images

We had some of the sandstorms in Kuwait too. The only real difference was the sand, the sand there was like the beach sand here in the states and it was like you where getting sandblasted when you were out in it. In Iraq, it was a dust storm and in Kuwait, it was a true sandstorm.

images (1) (480 x 319).jpg
Picture From Google Images

I just threw this pic in because it was the entrance to Saddam's parade field. The hands holding the swords were made from molds of his hands. This was in the green zone in Baghdad, where all the government buildings were and it was made into a rest area where we could stop and get time to stretch our legs in the middle of our route clearance missions.
Thanks for taking the time to read our posts and do not forget to upvote, follow and resteem, please. Have a great day/night, whatever it is in your neck of the woods.

Please Do Not Forget To Follow, Upvote And Resteem!


Please Help Support Our Veterans

Delegate To The "Humvee" Bot @shadow3scalpel

Sort:  

Ugh, I remember that haze and dust from port visits in Dubai. Not that terrible red haze, fortunately. Even out in the Persian Gulf, during my first deployment, dust was everywhere and the air and water were always dull, hazy, smoggy colored.

I honestly can't imagine living through months of that "boots on ground." It was bad enough at sea!

Oh, it was terrible, you never got used to it. What was worse was the smell of the trash dumps burning. Then when those were out the plain smell of the country. I still smell that smell sometimes and it makes me look around to be sure of where I am.

Just living through the sand storms is courage in itself. I don’t know how you did it, but I am grateful you made it back to be with us on steemit. 🐓🐓

Yes, extreme weather is truly extreme: like a blizzard in the Yukon, a taifun in the Philippines, or a dust-storm in the Middle East. Compared to that, a heat-wave, or cold spell in temperate climates is really not deserving of the E label.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

(you hear an engine rev and horn honk)
MEEP! MEEP!
(the window on the humvee rolls down to reveal a warm smiling face)
"Hello! I'm @shadow3scalpel and with the help of my protege, @chairborne, we are actively assisting veterans, retirees and active servicemen and women here on Steemit. We feel it is our 'duty' to support each other. Any questions or comments you may have, simply respond to this comment, thank you!"
(the window rolls up and the engine roars as it drives to the next person on the list)
Comment by @killerwhale. This is a opt-in bot.

Hey I just acquired seven servers and I got more than I need for my current project. Send me a text if you are interested.

I am. Right now overworked and underpaid. LOL. I will give you a call when something breaks good here. Please be patient.

I'm just advertising the servers to any one who needs it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64647.16
ETH 3160.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13