You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Dust Storms In Iraq When I Was Deployed!

in #veterans6 years ago

Ugh, I remember that haze and dust from port visits in Dubai. Not that terrible red haze, fortunately. Even out in the Persian Gulf, during my first deployment, dust was everywhere and the air and water were always dull, hazy, smoggy colored.

I honestly can't imagine living through months of that "boots on ground." It was bad enough at sea!

Sort:  

Oh, it was terrible, you never got used to it. What was worse was the smell of the trash dumps burning. Then when those were out the plain smell of the country. I still smell that smell sometimes and it makes me look around to be sure of where I am.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64307.66
ETH 3146.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88