You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Moviemaking Concepts: Directing

in #video6 years ago

Interesting as always but my question is focused more on Steem promotion.
Did you try to get anyone to join Steem? What were the biggest hurdles and what was the feedback offered, if any.
I know a little about the industry and was very curious if the renowned open-minded people in moviemaking would have found Steem interesting in any way? :)

Keep up the good job! Wonderful video.

Sort:  

Thanks @alexdory! To answer your questions - I don't really go about actively trying to get anyone to join any particular social media in my vlogs, though I have mentioned Steemit in a few videos in the past, like when I get a specific question from a steemit user for example - I'll give them and the platform a shout out. I do however provide links to my steemit blog in the Youtube video descriptions, relevant facebook/instagram posts, etc. - and basically whenever I'm actually able to provide the link! Many sites limit you to the big ones and only allow one "other" category, where of course I usually need to put my own website or a link to one of my stores.

In terms of trying to actively recruit entertainment people onto the platform, I do actually do that - but mostly in person or by word of mouth rather than online or via the vlog, because I find it's easier to explain that way. As the platform is structured currently, I find it really requires the user to have a certain kind of technical mind to be able to understand how the blockchain/cryptocurrency functions and that the way you can get the most out of the steemit community is to be active on Discord - a whole other program. This is limiting for those who aren't technically minded or who are more extroverted and don't like to spend a lot of time on the internet. The movie industry in particular is comprised of talkers who prefer face to face interactions than online interactions - this has been my broad stroke experience anyway.

The biggest issue I think that I've run into in my conversations with filmmakers in particular is return on investment - it can take a lot of money and manpower to make a film in the first place, and unless you're already super active in the steemit community and can work its system, it's unlikely they'll be able to make more than one person's lunch reimbursement on posting it here if you're lucky. It's much more lucrative to spend their time and energy in the traditional ways - festivals, meetups, networks, etc.

Not to mention, that homepage is still very much crypto-centric. Crypto-friendly people such as myself are trying to change that of course by featuring a blog on a blockchain that is about art and creative endeavors, but we're rarely seen on the trending page - at least enough that can stand out through the crypto-talk noise to not be off-putting to those who have no interest in crypto, decentralization, or financial talk. I don't use bidbots or anything, so I don't think I'll be up there anytime soon, and I think many artists on here also feel the same way.

Where I've had the most luck in recruitment is graphic artists and illustrators, as opposed to filmmakers. That's something that they can usually do by themselves in their own time, and can post when it's done. Unfortunately it comes down to consistency though, they'll fall off the wagon and stop posting. Or won't get involved in the Discord communities and not make more than a few cents per post and get bored. While it's nice to make .05 cents as opposed to nothing, it's still a song and dance to set up and learn how to actually turn STEEM/SBD into fiat, so they'll just quit and end up back on FB/instagram where they'll get lots of likes and immediate gratification without having to do any other work...

I believe the future is crypto, so I'm in for the long haul! But it's just not there for most of the worlds that I'm in yet. Hopefully that will change, and of course I'll continue to have those conversations to try and bring more people in!

Let me know if you'd like me to elaborate on anything!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89