The NYC Pride Parade Was Today - Here's video of it!

in #video7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians! Today was Pride Parade in NYC and I thought I'd share some of the video I grabbed while watching it.

Disclaimer: These are my personal opinions and views. They do not represent the official positions of Steemit Inc. or any employees thereof

I'm not a big "parade person" but it was nice to see everyone out in support of a group with such a difficult past. While I have no hard numbers on this, Pride Parade seems like the most popular parade in NYC, which I guess could make it the most popular parade in the world! Everybody came out in support from tens of thousands of citizens, to the police (who also seemed to be doing an amazing job protecting the parade) as well as the Governor (who seems like a pretty corrupt dude otherwise but oh well ;) ).

The video isn't technically NSFW but there are many half-clothed individuals and one guy who was wearing only a sock over his ... you know ... junk. So if that kind of thing bothers you, you might not want to watch. But hopefully this will give you all an idea of what it's like to be in Manhattan on this particular day!

Freedom of Speech

Pride Parade also highlights why freedom of speech is so important. It wasn't that long ago that people just didn't really know much about people with nonstandard sexualities. When speech can be banned there's no saying what will and won't be permitted by the authorities. Given the history of hostilities toward this group, it's highly likely that did we not have such a strong history of freedom of speech, as well as having it enshrined in our constitution, this type of speech would certainly have been banned.

But by having the right to make their presence known to the community through congregation, speaking, carrying signs, and having what appears to be a generally good time in the process, this community was able to help our society progress to a phase where, even if it's insincere pandering, the police and Governor feel obligated to respect their existence.

This is also why platforms like Steem and Steemit are so important. They act as a safety net against authoritarian overreach and guarantee that any oppressed group will always have a place where they can express themselves and make their views known to the world.

Sort:  

Hello from a trans-girl in Arizona, I'd love to one day visit NY....I have nothing but love for my LBGTQ friends.

@andrarchy I was considering blogging about my transition here on Steemit and offering my support for anyone else that thinks they might be trans.

I just started on Steemit yesterday and this was the first LBGT post I'd seen thus far.

You just gained another follower and an upvote ❤️

-Tiffany

@cryptounicorn - I was getting ready to write a comment for Andrew here and noticed your post right away.
I myself am going through a similar journey - so I fully support your courage to share your story.
And id be honored to follow you :)

@andrarchy - the parade was epic. Nice coverage man!

Awesome I look forward to it :)

Hey Tiffany! Welcome to Steemit! If that's what you want to write about then you absolutely should. Sounds fascinating to me. One of my favorite made up slogans for this site is "paid to be yourself." Be your authentic self, write about what's important to you and I'm sure it will be great :) Can't wait to read your stuff!

Nice video....I remember around this time last year all the pride parades had extra security because that was right around the time of Orlando gay Night club shooting :(

Cool stuff! P.L.U.R !!
<3

We live in a vast and diverse society, supporting each other and sometimes having a "live and let live" mentality make for a more peaceful environment.

Oh I used to love Pride Parade in Amsterdam when I lived there! I have a feeling it could compete with NYC - boats on the canals instead of trucks on the street :)

Yes I believe the blockchain and especially projects like steemit contribute immensely to fairness, equality, inclusion and freedom of expression! Thank you :)

Sounds amazing. Of course being in Amsterdam helps!

Wow, those Pride Parades look so fun! Even though I'm not one of them LOL. It just makes me happy to see all those people having fun, together.
Thanks for sharing this amazing post, @andrarchy!
I have just upvoted it ;)

true. he banned istanbul pride for 3 years in row

hello!! congrats !! nice post! so colorful! i'll follow you, you have great stuff to offer follow me back in #beasoft xoxo

Yeahh happy Pride Month 🌈

great post man would love to go to a new york marde grae amazing stuff we have one in manchester have a great day followed and upvoted

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56