Vocab-ability Suffix–353 (__like = similar, [adjective suffix]) – A More Powerful Vocabulary (earn UpVotes with “Vocab Practice” exercise)

Each daily “Vocab-ability 1x1” post has 2 main features, as follows:  

One “Vocab-ability” entry

By spending 5 minutes reviewing today’s “Vocab-ability” entry (below), you can learn the vocab roots and many high-level English words.    

One “Vocab Practice” exercise (for UpVotes

By spending another 10–15 minutes, you can practice using today’s words by composing your own sample sentences. Your practice efforts will be rewarded with UpVotes.     (See “Vocab Practice” rules and notes below)    Today’s “Vocab- ability” entry

With this ‘Mini-Guide,’ you can identify the components in the “Vocab-ability”  entry above.

(To facilitate your quick reference, the ‘Mini-Guide’ has been minimized. For the full "Guide to Entries," right-click here.)

      Introduction – For "Intro to Vocab-ability," right-click here
      Guide – For full "Guide to Entries," right-click here
      Index– For "Index" to all Chapters and Sections, right-click here

Note re Copying each Entry

Each separate post in the “Vocab-ability”  series consists of one entry (one text-box). To use any of these “Vocab-ability”  entries for your personal study or in any classroom, you can download them by clicking and dragging the text-box that you want to use, and then print them out.  

Note re Free Use 

Please feel free to download the above text-box, copy it, print it out, and distribute it for any and all educational purposes. If “Vocab-ability”  helps you or your students to increase your English vocabulary, it will have served its purpose.  
(I hold the copyright to the original “Vocab-ability” guide, which was published in 2002. I hereby grant free use of all the material contained in this post and in all other “Vocab-ability” posts on Steemit).

Sort:  

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. Lifelike:
    The lifelike dolls sitting under the hot sun that caught my attention when the fruitfly landed on them.

  2. Warlike:
    Their warlike painted face reminded me the savages that frequented the land, burning down that was in their path.

  3. Businesslike:
    Out of the corner of my eye, I saw the businesslike man in the suit holding his rifle steady at my head.

  4. Childlike:
    Dropping like a sack of potatoes, I rolled childlike before I caught a bullet to my back.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. lifelike
    His dreams were very lifelike.
  2. warlike
    He became warlike when we figured out he was lying.
  3. businesslike
    John is a very businesslike person who wishes to make just great job.
  4. childlike
    Timmy is a childlike even if he has grown up very fast.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. It was my dream since I was a child to create a lifelike figurine.
  2. Some say that Adolf Hitler was a warlike while the other say that he was a hero.
  3. I hope to turn into a businesslike kind of a man.
  4. My girlfriend is a childlike but I love her so.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

1 This is a lifelike anatomic model of the liver, it will be very useful for the students.
2 The warlike neighborhood in my city is very dangerous.

3 Although he is 24, he has a childlike face

4 The new businesslike secretary is amazing she can do lots of difficult things

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. Lifelike:
    The portrait in the museum looked lifelike.

  2. Warlike:
    The miltary government that was elected recently set up warlike policies.

  3. Businesslike:
    Joel proposed businesslike ideas in the refugee conference that was held yesterday.

  4. Childlike:
    Most elderly people highly portray childlike trust in their homes.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE

  1. Lifelike:
    His struggle to become an actor is a lifelike example for us.
  2. Warlike:
    My friend is in the army and he is true warlike.
  3. Businesslike:
    To be successful one should have a businesslike mind.
  4. Childlike:
    At the age of 60, my uncle has a childlike mind.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. The statue of Margaret Thatcher in the lobby of Parliament is so lifelike it even has her trademark handbag.

  2. The New Zealand rugby players performed the warlike "Haka" before the game to intimidate their opponents.

  3. Many companies require their front-line staff to wear suits to give a businesslike impression.

  4. The dad had a childlike enthusiasm for trainsets and played with them more than his sons did.

My Vocab Practice

1.- When I was a child, I always tried that the scenes in my games where lifelike.

2.- Since a few years ago until now my country civil society has become warlike and bitter

3.-He treats his clients in a businesslike manner.

4.-We should talk and act with a childlike frankness so we can save ourselves by giving so many explanations.

MY VOCAB PRACTICE:

  1. I wonder how much those lifelike mannequin dolls at the city mall cost.
  2. Mr. Smart's home is warlike, I can barely sleep these days!
  3. The young dancer takes her training businesslike, which I find fascinating
  4. Most entrepreneurs rarely act childlike in public.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99