You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Back up your keys offline before you sign up for the new wallet.steemit more than just as a precaution.

in #wallet5 years ago

That I think is what I went through, now I know, but does this mean that I can not get to the wallet.steemit, because I do not have a wallet.steemit key?(I did not think there would be different keys on the wallet.steemit to save and I do not recall seeing any prompts to save new keys ). It all seems to be working for me now. I even powered up and converted some SBD to steem to make sure everything still worked right.

Sort:  

Hi @bashadow, no the keys are the same but if you login to wallet.steemit you will see that your owner and active keys are hidden and the wallet generated a new key that somehow got swapped with my posting key.

If you try to view your owner or active keys in the wallet it will ask you to enter your active key which it doesn't accept and just times out.

I assume that when it is fully implemented these functions will work?

I just did a test power up too and it is working.

Glad to hear that I did not miss something about new keys then. It took me a long time to figure out how to get re-signed in, The login button would not work, I had to right click open in new window to get to a steemit login page, then the user name long box and password box, and then the login button would never highlight,I finally clicked on the steemit logo in the upper left and found the login screen for returning users under it. Just glad all is back to normal.

Yep, it was a bit of a nightmare trying to get signed into again as you experienced.

Everyone really needs to have a backup plan in place just for these kinds of issues.

I do think the setup on steem is very good if you follow the guidelines about security and in the end this is what the whole new wallet system is hoping to solve.
It's one less attack vector to worry about.

I do like and appreciate the simplicity of steemit, I now have a busy.org folder, and a steeve folder for the justincase issues, steemitstage I guess is no longer an option for backup like it used to be for me.

edit:I guess I should have checked my back-up site every now and then to make sure it was still there.

Haha yep your right.

I should have checked my back-up site every now and then to make sure it was still there.

Apps come and go but steemit refuses to die :-)

The fastest hunk of junk on the blockchain :-)

!tip

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64215.81
ETH 3150.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86