Back up your keys offline before you sign up for the new wallet.steemit more than just as a precaution.

in #wallet5 years ago (edited)
Sort:  

Yeah the other day my friend could not get into the usual Steemit wallet after having been in it earlier in the day. Very hard and frustrating to troubleshoot via texts! Hope it is all sorted soon. Good advice here!

Hi Paul, yep it was very frustrating but I got it sorted out in the end.

I'm pretty sure many steemians are going to run into this problem if they don't chose another name for the new wallet.
The wallet password will overwrite the original steemit password stored in the browser because it's the same username!

Well is it something that Steemit can fix or is it mainly browser related? Now I am scared to fool with the wallet.

Just found this comment. Sorry about the delay.
No steemit cannot fix it. It client side.

Thanks @molometer, this is the first I have heard of wallet.steemit. When I first joined Steem I was a bit apprehensive I’m used to accessing crypto with a Ledger nano s. So wallet. Steem might be a good step forward.
Let us all know how comfortable you are with this wallet going forward in some post.
If I understand correctly this only works for undelegated Steem, just liquid steem???
I will Resteemed this for others, very good information 👍😊

When you save the login name from the new wallet make sure to give it a new name otherwise you may run into the same issue that I had. The wallet has it's own key which can easily be swapped by 'accident'.

Thanks for the heads up @molometer, I wish I had as empty wallet just so I could test this all out safely...... 👍

That I think is what I went through, now I know, but does this mean that I can not get to the wallet.steemit, because I do not have a wallet.steemit key?(I did not think there would be different keys on the wallet.steemit to save and I do not recall seeing any prompts to save new keys ). It all seems to be working for me now. I even powered up and converted some SBD to steem to make sure everything still worked right.

Hi @bashadow, no the keys are the same but if you login to wallet.steemit you will see that your owner and active keys are hidden and the wallet generated a new key that somehow got swapped with my posting key.

If you try to view your owner or active keys in the wallet it will ask you to enter your active key which it doesn't accept and just times out.

I assume that when it is fully implemented these functions will work?

I just did a test power up too and it is working.

Glad to hear that I did not miss something about new keys then. It took me a long time to figure out how to get re-signed in, The login button would not work, I had to right click open in new window to get to a steemit login page, then the user name long box and password box, and then the login button would never highlight,I finally clicked on the steemit logo in the upper left and found the login screen for returning users under it. Just glad all is back to normal.

Yep, it was a bit of a nightmare trying to get signed into again as you experienced.

Everyone really needs to have a backup plan in place just for these kinds of issues.

I do think the setup on steem is very good if you follow the guidelines about security and in the end this is what the whole new wallet system is hoping to solve.
It's one less attack vector to worry about.

I do like and appreciate the simplicity of steemit, I now have a busy.org folder, and a steeve folder for the justincase issues, steemitstage I guess is no longer an option for backup like it used to be for me.

edit:I guess I should have checked my back-up site every now and then to make sure it was still there.

Haha yep your right.

I should have checked my back-up site every now and then to make sure it was still there.

Apps come and go but steemit refuses to die :-)

The fastest hunk of junk on the blockchain :-)

!tip

Great advice. Backing up our keys in a safe place is essential. Resteeming

Thanks for resteeming Melinda, the more people that know about this the better.

I haven’t tried the new wallets yet as I have been considering to change my passwords as part of the process for an additional layer. I think it help for more to give this visibility given the potential challenges!

Posted using Partiko iOS

This is a good idea.

change my passwords as part of the process

Just in case the old keys were used in the past in error.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 9 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 144 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Howdy sir molometer! this is a very useful and educational and informational post, thanks for this and I'm resteeming it also. |Great job on this.

Thank you @janton, the more people that take notice and get their keys stored offline the better.

If you don't have the keys you don't own the steem.

Howdy tonight molometer! That's a scary thought, it you don't have the keys you don't own the steem! Thanks for the warning!

Good information @molometer. I have my key in a couple of places just in case.

Good idea to have a couple of backups offline. You never know when they may be needed?

As @melinda010100 says, a great advice. :-)

Thanks Kevin, always good to have a plan b :-)

That' true, a plan b is good :-)

Good to know, Michael! I memorized my ## because the old man was so adamant about not keeping myself logged in!

:)

!tip

The old man is a smart cookie. Thanks for the tip just found this lol

Always welcome! He is a smart cookie. That is why we keep him around. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95